A weekend of stitching

I had a lovely weekend, did you?  I went up to Millrose and stayed ALL weekend!

We started with a bit of shopping on the way at Patch n Quiltthen onto Millrose.

Even though the weather wasn’t flash, the Autumn colours were beautiful, and we didn’t really mind as it was a good excuse to stay indoors and stitch!Of course there was lots of food, including pre-dinner nibbles and lots of sewing/stitching/creating/laughing/chatting.

Jan had chosen these delectable plains(of course, some of us had to have them too!) and she was working on her embroideryGJ and Jan had gone up a couple of days before and GJ had been very productive getting LOTS done; minky blanketsand bagsand bags and progress on this quiltand the beginnings of the applique on this quilt (designed by Rae Telfer)My roomie was Ange, who I didn’t really know before I went, but she is an especially lovely lady and the perfect roomie; we went to bed at the same time, woke at the same time, and she even came for a walk with me early morning!  And Ange does beautiful work.  She turned these blocksinto this quilt topand Ange also worked on these blocks (can’t remember whose pattern this is)Andrea worked on her Autumn appliqueusing real leaves as templatesCarolyn showed us her gorgeous blocksand Maree chose some fabrics for backgrounds for her quiltAnd my apologies to my other Weekend Cohorts as I appear to have been remiss in taking pics of your work.

I started cutting for Angie’s challenge which I’ve been talked into taking on!and bought a few plains to help out (and maybe a little bit of ribbon……for something?)and I laid out a new block from my “Parsons Geese” template set using some of the wonderful “Outback Wife” fabrics which I just adore!and finished it!Sunday was our Woolly Bits day and I spent it in the shop with my Woolly Bits class mates.  I helped Jacinta with the binding for her quiltwhile admiring her little bagand this amazing rabbitLynne has finished her sweet little bag tooDeb is working on her embroideryCan’t show you Gail’s but I do like this fabric folder she hadJoy is working on “Sweet Sunday” blocks, prepping for moreand showing us these finished ones from this pile – so sweet!Lizzie had this gorgeous Orla Kiely tinwe enjoyed a delish lunchand perhaps some of us indulged in afternoon tea too!I had all my “Ruby May” Liberty cut out and started EPP prep for them (bit of a give away as to who had afternoon tea!!)and Jo visited showing us her quilt topand Neil also visited bringing his enormous quilt which he is endeavouring to machine quilt – not sure how he wrangles that in a domestic machine!Such a lovely time!  How was your weekend?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A weekend of stitching

  1. Leanne says:

    I’m loving your pictorial posts Meredithe.
    May I ask where the rich blue fabrics in the first photo came from?
    Many thanks
    Leanne

  2. Linda Tiernan says:

    WOW, how inspirational…..lucky you!!!! All the work shown is quite amazing…talented group!

  3. suemcphee says:

    He Meredithe. I have not left you ie Eltham on a Wednesday but have a DVT & I will return as soon as given all clear. Love your Photos on your blog. Regards Sue McPhee

  4. carol hibbard says:

    I went to and did not find any mention of Ruby May pattern-looks like something I would love to do
    do you have any other info on it

    thanks, Carol from Florida, USA

  5. Judy says:

    What a perfectly wonderful weekend you had, and such an accomplished roomie. Love Ange’s stash and her work is awesome. All of the photos are so inspiring thank you for sharing.

  6. Fernanda says:

    What a wonderful weekend you have! Sounds like my kind of weekend very relaxing. All of the ladies are very talented. Jan’s embroidery took my breath away. Greetings from WA

  7. Tracy Rogers says:

    Wow, Jan’s embroidery is DIVINE! And I love Neil’s quilt – any idea of the pattern name Meredithe? It would make a great masculine quilt!

  8. Carole Minihan says:

    Loved Jans embroider6

  9. So, now I am hungry and really wanting a get away with my stitching sisters! What lovely projects and lots of great fun. I adore the Outback Wife fabrics and the stories behind them. I hope to acquire some in the near future. Enjoy the day.

  10. A wonderful weekend. Lovely fabric cheers dull days!

  11. Kyle says:

    Nice shopping, snacking, and of course, stitching!

  12. Sue says:

    I am wondering if you know anything about the design board in your pictures taken at Millrose. What is it made from ? Has it been custom made for Millrose or is it commercially available. It looks like the frame to a double stretcher with batting stretched over it?

  13. the embroidery is amazing!!

  14. Chookyblue says:

    a great weekend by the looks…shopping, food and sewing…………love your roomies quilt……

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

