2018 Challenge

Anne and I are delighted so many of you have participated in and enjoyed our 2017 Challenge, and we’ll have a wind up of that closer to the end of the month.

However, some of you have been asking about next year’s challenge and after many emails to and from opposite sides of the globe, Anne and I have come up with…….

6 & 6 in 2018

What on earth??  we hear you asking.  Well, it’s simple.  We know many of you, as well as Anne and I, like to do new things as well as try to finish or at least get Substantial Progress happening on older projects.  Too often the bright, new, shining thing distracts us so to combat that in 2018 it will be a challenge of 6 old and 6 new.

::  The 6 old can be carried over from 2017 or if you’ve been a smarty pants if your list is cleared, you’re welcome to nominate 6 more projects.

:: The 6 new, well, you probably don’t know about them as yet, they’ll most likely be things that grab your attention during the year, so no nominations needed.

To play along, we will post about a new project on odd numbered months (i.e. January, March, May etc) and your nominated UFO’s on the even numbered months (i.e. February, April, June etc).

What do you think?  Would you like to play along?  You have until 1 January to sort out your 6 UFO projects – link party opens on 2 January.  Anne and I do hope you’ll join us again.

Image result for present

Who knows what 2018 will bring, project wise??

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to 2018 Challenge

  1. Kyle says:

    Hmmmm. I could see where that just might work for me.

  2. Pamela says:

    I want to join in!

  3. Annie Gunn says:

    Excellent. We are all so motivated now after 2017, so will certainly play along. 2018 challenge is certainly do-able and to start something new – oh joy & delight. Mind you, after 17ufo’s I have to admit it won’t be hard to find another 6 ufo’s in my stash. Thanks so much Meredithe for inspiring us all. 🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄

  4. Emily says:

    I’d better get my list written out! Great plan 🙂

  5. Fernanda Walton says:

    I would love to join! Certainly have a few on the go an sooo many that I would love to sart! Count me in

  6. audrey says:

    I was thinking 18? No way, but this sounds doable.:) lol Especially the 6 new projects!

  7. Pat in WNY says:

    Though I didn’t link up formally with 17 in 2017 I tried to follow along at least in concept, though the 8 “opportunity quilts” on the back of the list ended up taking a huge chunk of my sewing time. I might actually be able to accomplish 6 and 6. Sounds like fun.

  8. elaine says:

    sounds good! I have loved the focus 17 in 2017 has given me

  9. Chris in Canada says:

    I’m in. I picked 6 quilts I want to finish this year. Five were on last ears list and I added a new one.
    Last years 17 ufos challenge was a wonderful encouragement. Thanks for motivating us.

  10. Lynette says:

    Nice idea! I’ll be keeping my 18-list that I already anticipated, but that’s such a huge number for most of us to keep up with, and as you say, to also bring in the “ooo-shiny!!” and gift-need projects that pop up during a year.

  11. tinaor says:

    Nice idea! It might chivvy me to actually do the WIPs (and scarily I think I have more than 6 for 2018!)

  12. This sounds like fun…I think I’ll join in!

  13. Yes indeed I want to play along! I was trying to find 18 in 2018 but this is better because I am struggling to find that many.

  14. Marsha Smith says:

    6 & 6 may be something I could accomplish. Thanks, a great idea and I would like to join in.

  15. glendajean says:

    I’m in LOL It sounds just like me and I would love to carry over 6 of my WIP’s from this year. It has been so much fun working with you ALL this year and to be honest I would NOT have worked on most of the WIP’s if I had not done this with you all. SO a big thanks Ann and Meredithe if I miss the last link in Merry Christmas and wishing you all the very best for 2018 see you all then to play. Cheers Glenda Downunder.

  16. glendajean says:

    PS I would have found another 18 no problem LOL But this way I’m more likely to get another quilt finished LOL Cheers

  17. Hmmm. I’ll have a think. My 17 in 2017 certainly got completely derailed by fabulous shiny new ideas!

  18. oh, this year, I am with you on this challenge!!

  19. Gail Davis says:

    Lovely! I loved pulling out the ‘oldies’ and getting some(?) of them off the UFO list, but there is nothing like pulling out a new project and dipping your toes in! Count me in!

  20. Carole says:

    Brilliant idea!!! Don’t think I’ll stick to the rules but I’m sure you won’t mind 😉

  21. Andrea says:

    Count me in, I love the idea!!
    Hoping to join one of your classes to skill up!!

  22. Count me in! This could help get 6 new started and the old 2017 UFO’s carried over! Yea.

  23. I love this idea! I’ll play.

  24. linda says:

    Yes, I think this might be something I can try to do. I’ve subscribed to your blogs – hopefully that will keep me on track.

    🙂 Linda

  25. melfunk says:

    I’m going to join in with you. I’ve been in 2 other UFO Challenges and hope this will help me meet my goal of reducing that long list by 50 items this year. Some are small, so I hope that works out for me. https://melsquiltingblog.blogspot.com/2017/12/6-6.html

  26. Eileen says:

    This sounds great, I definitely have 6 UFO’s and ^ quilts I would like to start that I know of-hehe.

  27. Sindy says:

    I like the 6 and 6 challenge- I’m in,

  28. Pia Lindegaard says:

    Thats just me. A lot of UFOS to choose from and a lot of new ideas – which is partly forbitten – but who can stop a creative brain? Pia in Denmark

  29. smassena2014 says:

    Where are we supposed to post these? I’d love to join this.

  30. Helen says:

    Any chance of joining the 2018 challenge still?

  31. Cindy Barone says:

    I’m interested in joining is it too late?

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.