2021 QAL – Curves

My French friends Cecile and Corrine are hosting their Annual QAL (Quilt-a-long) and the theme for 2021 is “Curves”.

It started on 1st January and due to my lack of sewing mojo I hadn’t prepared myself. VEry unlike me! I had worked out what I was doing when Cecile and Corrine first announced the QAL theme back in November which was a save. So on 1st January I hastily threw some fabrics into a basket (they are 95% florals)

and, Horror of Horrors!!, had to prep my own templates – something this Template Princess hasn’t had to do in many a long year!

We need 16 blocks so I quickly sorted the fabrics into groups (maybe I should try the “throw it together” more often!!)

chose a centre fabric

and a background fabric

then started the prep work of tracing and cutting out.

The petal sets are all done

but wouldn’t you know it – I was 2 short on the centre fabric so I just chose another fabric for the last two. A bit of make-do spirit! I still have 5 sets of the background to trace/cut but they will be done soon. It was then a matter of sewing up the first one to see how it all worked. The pieces are a reasonable size (they will be 20″ blocks when finished) so the curve is gentle. The block came together fairly quickly which surprised me and I really enjoyed the piecing.

So much so that for week one I actually have 3 blocks made. Ta-Da!

They are still to have a final surround, but that will come later. I want to have all the blocks made to this stage then choose the fabric which will go around them all.

And yes, I realise that week 2 is rapidly drawing in, so I’ll get to and make another very shortly!

Is anyone else participating this year? Would love to hear/see what you’re doing for your Cuuuurves!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 2021 QAL – Curves

  1. Elizabeth Boswell says:

    Dear Meredith’s

    I have been following them on Facebook and love the blocks that are being made, particularly Posh Penelope.

    I often wonder how I come to be following a particular group on FB or Instagram, now you have reminded be how I came to be following Cecile and Corinne.

    Cheers Elizabeth

    ________________________________

  2. Linds Tiernan says:

    Wow, you are a “mover and groover” ……looks like Mojo is back! Just in time to get us all into the groove for 2021 and give us all those wonderful little tips and tricks you are famous for. So happy to see you back into it and making fabric decisions so quickly. I am excited for 2021! 🤗

  3. Jennifer Farmer says:

    Well done Meredith 😚

  4. I’m not participating, but enjoying seeing all the curved piecing here and there. Your flowers are simply beautiful!

  5. A Bouwman says:

    Beautifull block, that will be al lovely quilt when finished

  6. Cécile says:

    Ah ah !! Your templates are beautiful Meredithe !! And your blocks too !
    Thank you for participating again this year !!

  7. elainesuller says:

    These are so pretty! Glad your mojo is back, mine has wandered off again…. is this your own design?

  8. Juliann says:

    I have joined that curves qal and my test block went well. Sadly, the next two were not matching up so I unstitched and have just been looking at them. I was hoping to machine stitch but maybe I need to hand stitch. I have contemplated dropping out but I really want to tackle this project. I love the block you are making.

  9. frayedattheedge says:

    Looking good!!

  10. love your fabric’s choice!

  11. Fabulous! Do we gather the mojo is properly back now?

  12. audrey says:

    Had to laugh at you having to prepare your own templates! I am usually so jealous of those who have the money/access to wonderfully sturdy templates. Love your sweet floral start!:)

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.