6 & 6 in 2018

Happy New Year and welcome to the start of a new challenge.  This year Anne and I have decided to do

:: 6 old and

:: 6 new projects

With the 6 old (or ufo’s), all we ask is Substantial Progress, but if you get a finish that’s great!  (I do lots of hand work so to get something finished is going to take time, hence Substantial Progress is a better ask, and not so demanding)

With the new projects, well, we all get distracted by the bright, new and shiny, so if something takes your fancy along the way, make it one of your 6 new!

Now is the chance to put forward your list of 6 old/ufo’s, and if anything bright, new and shiny has already taken your fancy (like me), you can start your 6 new list here too.

I’m carrying forward a couple of ufo’s from last year (that I didn’t get to!!) plus a couple of others I know are lurking in the sewing room, so my 6 ufo’s list is:

  1. The Aunts’ Quilt
  2. Improv Waterfall Quilt
  3. Gateaux
  4. Strawberry Parfait
  5. + and x
  6. 1930’s quilt (have a vague recollection of what it looks like, but not sure of the name – it’s there somewhere!)

and for the start of my 6 new

  1. “Pannier”  I’m joining in with Cecile for her challenge which you can read about here and using this as my inspiration fabric
  2. “Bella Ruby” which is a kit from Treehouse Textiles that just called out to me

Now it’s your turn.  Either link up by clicking the icon below, or if you don’t have a blog, list your nominations in a comment, or photograph the list and put it on Instagram with the hashtag #6and6in2018

If you are linking up

:: Please link directly to your post on your 6and6in2018 not to your home page
:: Please link back to this post somewhere in your post
:: Visit other linkers to see what they’re going to be working on for 2018 (who knows you might see something there to inspire you!)
:: The link will be open for a week
:: If you haven’t already, pick up the 6and6in2018 blog button from my side bar

This is an odd numbered month, so that means you can start something new – yes, permission granted!  See you at the end of the month for an update on something bright, new and shiny that’s caught your eye!

Meredithe x

grab button for pomegranateandchintz

</div>

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 6 & 6 in 2018

  1. Linda Tiernan says:

    Happy New Year Meredithe! I will join in on 6&6 in 2018, and as the year progressed I may introduce a blog page of my own for it (with your help!!!)
    My NEW projects are – 1. Dancing Umbrellas 2. Nostalgia 3. Liberty cushion 4. Birdsville 5. Round we Go. 6. Marriage Quilt
    My UFO’s are – 1.Sweet Sunday. 2. Harriet’s Treasures. 3. Birds Eye View. 4. Ellen Parsons Geese. 5. Double Wedding ring variation. 6. Janes Pride
    Hope that is enough info for now. And had better start sewing right NOW!!!!
    😉

  2. elaine says:

    Happy New Year! I am in, I am really happy with the progress I made last year with the challenge, let’s hope for a couple of finishes this year – but like you I like to work by hand and am drawn to large complex quilts 🙂

  3. Mirjam Hesseling says:

    Hi Meredith. I like to join the 6and6in2018. But because I don’t have a blog or something like that I will send you a list with photographs if that’s okay for you.

  4. I will be blogging about this today…..am looking forward to the motivation! I know already that one of my readers is going to join along. I’m having trouble with your “button” for the challenge, though.

  5. Jeanna says:

    I didn’t finish all of 17 UFOs in 2017 so I’ll certainly have something to quality for the 6 and 6 in 2018. It is always inspiring to what you and others accomplish during these challenges. Wishing you much success with your projects in 2018!

  6. frayedattheedge says:

    Love, love, love that fabric!

  7. Hi I’m Kathy and live in Florida and think this is a great way to accomplish old and new projects this year. I did reply with a WordPress account please delete that one as I prefer my BlogSpot

  8. verveinelin says:

    lovely challenge!
    I join it!!!

  9. Lynette says:

    Yay for New!! I’m inundated with UFOs and all, so it’s so very, VERY nice to have this slot up front in the year for a New allowance. Thank you. Strawberry Parfait sure is sweet.

  10. I’m going to be having a look to see what I might get done this year and I’ll write a post next week…

  11. audrey says:

    Okay, it’s a done deal! Got my link added and I’m fully committed! hehe This should be an interesting year for all of us! Free reign to start new projects.:)

  12. Les3sardines says:

    Well it’s a great idea !!! I love it. I join you

  13. Colleen says:

    I just came across your site and challenge, I am excited to participate. I think tomorrow morning I will get my ufos out and list them, it’s been a goal that fell by the wayside last year; I’m motivated to try again, and a challenge is a boost. I’ve already started 2 new for the year- the first was a new year’s day mystery quilt, I had not done a mystery quilt before. It was fun and I finished the top today, just need to choose backing and get it quilted. Then I jumped into Tula Pink’s Butterfly quilt. I have 8 of the 10 first blocks done.
    One of my ufojust needs me to finish the binding, going to take it to sewing group tomorrow and try to make some headway.
    Anyhow- I will list/ share tomorrow
    Thanks for the motivational push.

  14. thimbleanna says:

    This will be a fun challenge to watch you complete this year Meredithe. And, of course, I’m rooting for the Aunts’ Quilt LOL!

  15. stitchydragon says:

    Happy New Year Meredithe! I love the colors in your Strawberry Parfait quilt and look forward to seeing all your projects develop this year 🙂 I still don’t have the skills to add the button to my blog but I’m going to enjoy joining in and seeing what everyone is working on too! Have a great week,
    Helen

  16. marshaseiberling says:

    I think I can do this..6 old and 6 new…..and then I won’t feel bad about starting the new!
    I will have to concentrate on getting my list up and such by this time next week.

  17. marshaseiberling says:

    Darn! I missed getting in on the linky, but I have opened all the posts that are there to see what everyone else is up to. You can find my 6 & 6 post at http://marshasspot.blogspot.com/2018/01/wip-wednesday-6-6-in-2018-challenge.html

  18. melfunk says:

    So we have a february number or do we pick our own?

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.