17ufosin2017 – January

Firstly, Anne and I are thrilled with the number of people – that’s you Dear Peeps! – who are joining us in this challenge, and during the month I’ve had several e-mails from regular commenters saying that they took the idea to their quilt groups and whole groups are joining in.  So a big “THANK YOU” to you all!!

So now, chickadees, how has your Substantial Progress gone on your nominated projects for January?

I’ve done quite well (halo shining!), me thinks.

I dragged out the nearly finished nine-patch……discovered it was a triangle quilt…….and that it needed just five seams and a press and the top was done!  So from this1-dscn5420to this 17-dscn5421and it’s off to the quilter this week.

On my “Saigon” quilt, the centre applique is finished14-dscn5459the final blocks are finished04-dscn5431I cut out triangles and stitched them up4-dscn5521carefully measured and trimmed back the applique1-dscn5531trialed the look with the triangles3-dscn5533then stitched them in place (I even gave it a cursory press before photographing for you!)4-dscn5535and yesterday I started cutting out the triangles for the next border.

My MSG project has gone from thisDSCN3713(ooh, I’ve just seen what I was going to do with the squares – hmm, like that idea!) to sorting through “bits”31-dscn5484to placing them42-dscn5497and all the right hand side border has been appliqued down.

Not bad for this month!

And now it’s over to you!  If you have a blog, please add your link below; if you don’t have a blog, list your month’s achievements in the comments, or add a post to Instagram with the hashtag #17ufosin2017  Can’t wait to see what everyone has done!  And if you missed out on posting last month, please join in this month – we’d love to have you along on the challenge.

Meredithe x

When linking to your blog for 17ufosin2017

::  Please link directly to your post on your 17ufosin2017 not to your home page
::  Please link back to this post somewhere in your post
::  Visit other linkers to see what they’re going to be working on for 2017
:: The link will be open for a week
::  If you haven’t already, pick up the 17ufosin2017 blog button from my side bar

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 17ufosin2017 – January

  1. Karen says:

    congratulations on your progress, I too have finished and basted one quilt top and have put together a small top which just needed a few minutes on the sewing machine to complete. thank you for the inspiration and motivation

  2. Annie Gunn says:

    Some lovely work for show & tell Meredithe. Two of the sewing groups that I belong to in country NSW are progressing well with the 17ufosin2017. Hard to believe that one of our months have already gone. We will give you a progress report from time to time. A

  3. You’ve done beautifully!! Everything is wonderful.

  4. Jenny M says:

    Beautiful work and such a lot done! Me thinks I should quit work & just sew!

  5. I completed my queen size on point sampler quilt, pieced a wallhanging and have almost completed the quilting. I am using metallic thread in my hand quilting.

  6. Angie says:

    Looks like you’re doing great! Your color sense is amazing – enjoying the summery feel of all your projects!

  7. Emily says:

    I spent three weeks moving a ‘plus’ top along. I got loads done. I cut heaps of small squares and got almost all of it put together. I was really focused!! It helps when you feel like you’re part of a gang!! Then I started working on some handwork, it’s moving along. Thanks for the great idea of moving 17 projects along:) I’ve found it has focused my mind!

  8. Linda Dutch says:

    You’ve certainly had a lovely productive month! Love all these projects, especially your MSG top!

  9. glendajean says:

    Dear Merideth thanks to you and the Ufosin2017 challenge I have finished one wee quilt and it’s on it’s way to its new owner and almost completed another. I’m allowing 21 days for each project if I finish the quilt I’m happy but if I don’t I’m still happy with the progress made on it. Thanks for the fun and motivating such a great idea. Cheers Glenda

  10. myrtovlyrto says:

    Dear Meredith I just visited your blog and I love it. Thank you for the motivation, I’ll try to be a good girl in 2017 and try to finish some UFO’s but I cannot part with my bad habits so easily and when I look at beautiful quilts I want to give them a try. Can you tell me if the Saigon quilt can be found as a pattern and also the MSG project? Thank you,
    Myrto in Athens Greece

  11. Lots of beautiful progress here this month! 🙂

  12. And I’ve not set a stitch on mine. Never mind, there’s always next month!

  13. Sandi says:

    Beautiful projects!! I love how your triangle quilt turned out! Hugs,

  14. anudge says:

    Congratulations on your progress. It’s all beautiful. Thanks for doing this. I’ll be linking later once photos are taken and post written up. It’s so fun going to all the link ups.

  15. frayedattheedge says:

    Lots of excellent progress!! I promise to catch up having lost half of January to the dreadful bout of flu!!

  16. Judy says:

    Wonderful progress, good for you. I must say that is a very frugal little piece of cake on that plate! I especially like the way your little triangle border meets so well on the corner of Saigon. Very inspiring, working on my Quilty 365 circles, 230 done, yea!

  17. sewjourn says:

    Great progress – I’m impressed. Loving the MSG quilt. Will post my update tonight. x

  18. Miss E says:

    Terrific progress, M! The heading-towards-finished-objects are looking great. 🙂 xx

  19. wendy says:

    you have done so well!! Keep up the good work. I’ve not written my post yet, but will link it when it’s done.

  20. Joanne P says:

    Gorgeous colours in your quilts this month.
    I have linked up my cross-stitching blog. This month I stitched on 7 out of my 17 projects and finished 1 of them! Go me!

  21. Jeanna says:

    Great job!!! I’m quite please with my progress as well.

    Will there be a separate linky for our February “Commitments?” Or should I have listed those in the post as my January progress report?

    Thanks to you and Anne for hosting this challenge.

  22. Renee Anne says:

    I talk about my 17 UFOs in 17 on my weekly blog update (Self-Imposed Year of Projects) so I don’t have a direct post….but I know that two things have been knocked off my list. I finished up a pair of socks I started in November (I think) and I got my entire yarn stash (sans a few project bags) photographed and uploaded into the Ravelry database. I’m keeping the stash update on my list, however, to remind myself that I do, in fact, need to look in those bags for yarn. Other than that, uh…..well, that stash thing was a big project. I’m glad it’s done 🙂

  23. Vicki in MN says:

    You are off to a very good start to ’17!! Way to go.

  24. audrey says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that does the ‘cursory’ ironing instead of the impeccable looking product! lol Thanks for great motivation to make progress on several fronts. It’s how I generally work, but this way maybe I won’t leave anything behind for months and months.:) Lovely to see your great progress too! Considering how much is hand piecing and applique, you’re moving right along!

  25. Carole says:

    Saion and MSG quilts are looking gorgeous, Thanks again for the inspiration, I have managed 3 finishes!

  26. marshaseiberling says:

    Oops looks like I am too late to link up for this one, sorry about that.
    No finishes for me and so far I’m still working on just the same 2 of my 17.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.