Day 31 – Double Trouble

There’s been a Double Irish Chain quilt on the to-do list for quite some time. I picked up this book

20121031-100342.jpg
in Ireland in 2005. Then Valori Wells brought out this fabric

20121031-100529.jpg
and I knew that it was what I wanted for the “plain” block of the DIC. The fabric has been sitting on a chair in my sewing room ever since, patiently waiting……. Now the time has come!

Except (there’s usually an except for the best laid plans, aren’t there?), the bird is on the large side

20121031-100859.jpg
so after mucking around on the computer for a time (see the large sheaf of papers under the final size printout??!!)

20121031-101107.jpg
I think I’m good to go.

Because of the bird fabric being a little sparse in places, I’m thinking of using the pink trees as the rest of the “plain” and the pink and orange will be the chains.

20121031-101441.jpg
Anyway, I’ll cut one out, put it up on my design board and see how it looks….will keep you updated!

Happy stitching
Meredithe

PS I’ve made it through Blogtoberfest!! And if it’s your thing, enjoy Halloween.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 31 – Double Trouble

  1. Love the fabric choice. Looking forward to quilting or basting you grandma quilt top so hope to see you Saturday 🙂

  2. Anne says:

    I’ve only done a block of Irish Chain in my sampler quilt ……. way back on 1993!! I love the birds – but I think we know someone who won’t like it …….

  3. Helen F says:

    You are right Anne!!! I would fussy cut the beautiful flowers in that fabric and bin the “birds”!!!!

  4. Maree G says:

    LOVE the bird, and the other fabric choices. Maybe we,ll convince Helen, keep working on her.
    See you soon,

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.