17ufosin2017 | October

Well! she said with indignation and exasperation.  Where were we before we were so rudely interrupted?

(And don’t get me started on tel-co’s!   Why does it take nearly two weeks to fix a problem, and yes I realise there was a long weekend in there, but really?  And why do we have to allow at least an hour of time to get to speak to a real person, and why give us the phone number of a company that no longer fixes “the problem”, and then why does the technician tasked with the repair job contact us with incorrect details – supplied by the tel-co – and be expected to visit us and fix “the problem” from Gladstone, Queensland!!!!  That’s 1,978km away.  Just a quick fix!)

Breathe……calm……..breathe…….ok.

So, while October was a productive month (finished two quilt tops), it wasn’t so productive on the 17ufosin2017 front and all I managed was cutting out some circles for 365 Circles, but I guess that’s better than nothing.  94 of them, so some progress.How did you fare?  There’s not much of this year left and I do hope you’re sailing through your list and making Substantial Progress on your projects.

Anne and I have devised something new for next year and we’ll get to that in coming weeks, but now is the time to tell us all how you went in October and link up below.

If you have a blog, please add your link below (link will be open for a week); if you don’t have a blog, list your month’s achievements in the comments, or add a post to Instagram with the hashtag #17ufosin2017  Can’t wait to see what everyone has done!  And if you missed out on posting last month, please join in this month – we’d love to have you along on the challenge.

I have lots to catch you up with, so be prepared to be bombarded!  More tomorrow, Dear Peeps.

Meredithe x

When linking to your blog for 17ufosin2017

::  Please link directly to your post on your 17ufosin2017 not to your home page
::  Please link back to this post somewhere in your post
::  Visit other linkers to see what they’re going to be working on for 2017
:: The link will be open for a week
::  If you haven’t already, pick up the 17ufosin2017 blog button from my side bar

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 17ufosin2017 | October

  1. Annie Gunn says:

    Oh dear – think we all have a similar telco story to tell. I was on hold for 4″0 mins to a gov’t service the other day with the phone beside the sewing machine on speaker – in my rush to pick up the phone after a real person finally came on the line – I accidentally pressed the wrong button and terminated the call! Urghhhhh….

    On a happier note, I am on the home stretch with AGG #16, only have the binding to stitch down on #15, then on to finishing the 20+ year old crocheted tablecloth. Think I can make it ✅🍾

  2. Pamela says:

    How frustrating! I always hated being on the phone with any company. Here in Japan I don’t have a phone and my life is so much simpler. I, too, find myself working on projects other than my 17 in 2017, but I did make a little progress on these this month. I plan to roll my unfinished ones over to 2018 and maybe finish some more in the new year.

  3. karenfae says:

    My sister was just telling me her horror story of being on hold for an hour off and on with no results then to be told to call another number – eventually the matter was taken care of but it took her a half day to deal with a return of a package and who knows when she will get the refund!

  4. I started to write a comment be it started to be as long as one of my Posts! LOL. But I agree with all above. I tried to contact IRS, OPM, my Senators, and my Representative and could not get any one to answer the phone! The Government is the worse, then the doctors office, then Directv, then Best Buy (forget ever getting a person), then the Internet Provider…… The one company who has it together is Amazon! No waiting there – they call you back immediately! What really gets me are the air-heads that answer the phone who do not know anything about their company, etc. The other thing is when they give you 15 options, plus you have to listen to all the up front stuff!
    By the way – I have found that if the call goes overseas, I ask for someone in America – that seems to be working – at least I do not have to try to understand them…. OK off my box!
    I am trying to catch up on 2017 – slow but getting there! 2018 is so close, some will be carried over!
    Have a great day we are headed for the coast for a week – taking some hand work along will enjoy the fresh ocean air!

  5. Oh dear, That Time again. I don’t think I’ve done anything at all for 17in2017. But in my defense, I’ve been making a last minute wedding present!

  6. Gail Davis says:

    Glad you are back on air! Sorry to hear about your run-in with the Telco….we are all ears and empathy abounds. Not going to get started here …again….
    Well….this month I have some finishes and proudly puffed up my chest and popped a big tick against 3 quilts on my list!! Yay!!! Finally sewed on and completed the binding of each, and 2 of three entered in our local show on the weekend to prop up and expand the display. (It does pay to have an additional incentive! 😉😉) Also, I pulled out and popped a few stitches in a couple of appliqué quilts which have been tucked away for a while. New enthusiasm! There is definitely something about finishing which can be a huge incentive to give those oldies another turn.
    The list is dwindling but I haven’t really been focused enough to stick to it! Too many other inspirations/distractions! Oh well, content to have been inspired to participate anyway!

  7. stitchydragon says:

    Glad you’re all up and running again, can definitely identify with the company having no clue on your location for sending you a technician – if dealing with a company “down south” we find it’s all great until they hear your postcode then it’s as if we live on an iceberg 2 miles south of the North Pole! Looking forward to seeing what your circles become – all progress is good progress!! Also looking forward to what you and Anne have in store for us next year, this project has been so good for me this year I am really grateful to you for running it! Have a great week,
    Helen

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

