Impromptu sewing

Had a text message from Miss Helen on Friday asking if I’d like a trip to a quilt shop.  No need to ask me twice for that sort of adventure!  We arranged to meet at Gail B‘s then back to my place for lunch and an afternoon sewing.  I knew Maree was working in the morning but issued her with an invitation to join us for the afternoon too.

Helen and I had great fun scouring the shelves for necessary (and some fortuitous!) fabrics.  I’d somehow missed this piece of “Outback Wife”and needed it and these other bits!Helen is contemplating another embroidery quilt and picked up theseand these fabrics which you’ll see very soon in her sewingThank goodness for Mr Aldi as I called in there on the way home for something for us to eat and Maree brought these that she’d madeHelen is infatuated with hand quilting at the moment and has finished hand quilting three quilts since the beginning of Winter!  This is the latest and she’s also making star blocksMaree is stitching up more hexagon blocksand I started hand quilting one of the new template samples – just a teaser!Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Impromptu sewing

  1. Jenny M says:

    Sounds like a lovely way to spend a day. I think I should quit my day job, so I can call in to quilt shops with my friends (PS. don’t tell the ‘Boss’ who is my actually my hubby, we work together..but as we work near Gail Bs I sometimes manage to call in for a very quick fabric purchase!) But the downside to being sneaky is that Mr & Mrs B live in our neighbourhood too, so I have to say to Mr B, you did not see me here, in case he talks to my hubby. LOL

  2. Chookyblue says:

    Often the best days are not planned……

  3. Fernanda says:

    What and adventure petty I was stuck at work 😭. Quitting the job is becoming very appealing . Love it all specially the first fabric on this post

  4. What a treat! And now we are keen to see your new work..

  5. treadlemusic says:

    Love that quilt of Helen’s…..the pale, embroidered one. Gentle………….

  6. Kyle says:

    What a fun day with friends, fabrics and a few sweet treats.

  7. thimbleanna says:

    Now, THAT’s the way to do things — on the spur of the moment! It looks like you ladies had a wonderful time. Helen’s quilt is beautiful!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

