Squealers

At last!  I was able to go to sewing on Saturday.   It’s been SUCH a long time since I’ve spent time with any of my sewing friends.  There was lots of news to catch up on, and I, for one, had a much needed belly laugh or two!  We met at Kaye’s lovely home; I think I’ve mentioned before that Kaye is a bit (just a little bit) of a collector and she had some new birds on her wall from a trip earlier this year to Portugal as well as an amazing drawing.We all contributed to afternoon teaand there was lots of show and tell from my friendsOops, sorry!  How did my afternoon tea get in there!!  Ahem…….

Kaye has nearly finished the quilt that she designed using my “Elwood Rose” template; she’s just putting on another border and her “Boston Common” quilt is back from the quilterLove the backing that Kaye made from left overs (in a split 9-patch design)Helen has been hand quilting like mad over Winter, and this one just needs bindingand this one she’s finished for her grandsonMaree has the bulk of her “Emma Mary” quilt finished and is just deciding on a border treatmentMiss E hand stitched some sections of a shirt that she’s making (by machine).  Just love that fabric!Helen was hand quilting another UFOMiss F worked on a felted wool pieceAndrea was hand piecing some blocksand as well as scoffing afternoon tea, I worked on a new template setAs our Helen says, the afternoon was heaven on a stick!Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Squealers

  1. Kyle says:

    You girls are so delightful and creative.

  2. Pamela says:

    Gorgeous work. I love seeing what everone is making!

  3. I was just thinking about you today. Beautiful work as always. I had to do a double take to check that wasn’t a granny square blanket in there! Quilting never ceases to amaze me.

  4. frayedattheedge says:

    Yes, our Helen’s saying is the perfect description, heaven on a stick!! As I scrolled through the photos (perhaps drooling on the keyboard?), I kept thinking “right, I must comment on that quilt” then, “I must definitely comment on that one” …….. so I’ll just say, they are all fabulous, and I love the shirt too!!!!!

  5. A wonderful day of creativity!

  6. Ohhh my goodness I’d forgotten how stunning a cold weather garden looks like just beautiful, oh how Id love to smell those sweetpeas again. Up here in the tropics we are surrounded in very exotic flowers but very little perfume goes with them. Your garden must be such a joy Meredithe. Cheers Glenda

  7. thimbleanna says:

    Ooooh, I love that first quilt of Kaye’s — I hope she puts some beautiful quilting in those pretty white spaces!

  8. thimbleanna says:

    PS I have no idea how my previous comment ended up here on your garden post — it was meant for your previous post LOL!

  9. Patti Kilcullen says:

    I just love Kaye’s Elwood Rose quilt. Is that a pattern?

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

