Friday sewing

Had an impromptu sewing day on Friday at Rae’s home as Jen R was visiting from Sydney.  Jen and I worked together many years ago in a patchwork shop and I have always admired (and longed to emulate!) her fabulous design and colour style with her quilts.  So it was with a day filled with great excitement and anticipation!

I was up early and made a Walnut Cake.  I’ve been watching lots and lots of re-runs of The Great British Bake Off to the extent that I took out a Paul Hollywood book “British Baking” at the library this week.  The recipe for the cake is from that book and it was deemed a hit.There were other lovely treats to be had too and in amongst catching up on all the news there was a little sewing.  Jen is making this gorgeous Double Four Patch using only Liberty fabricsAmanda stitched the last of the blocks for her next quilt (which is one of Rae’s patterns)Rae was cutting up for a new quiltand I nearly finished the last of the 15 blocks of “Parsons Geese” (finished on Friday night).A very lovely day, indeed!!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday sewing

  1. Annie Gunn says:

    What a great occassion Meredithe. I too have re-acquainted with some old friends on my Ozzie adventure during the year and the term “old friends remain true friends” is certainly true. The walnut cake looks yum too.

  2. Judy says:

    Wonderful post. Your walnut cake looks yummy and what would those sweet items be in the photo below the cake, in particular the chocolate topped ones?? So nice that you could be reconnected with a stitching friend.

  3. Gretchen says:

    Sounds like you all had a lovely day. I also enjoy the Great British Baking show. I feel very enthused for baking after watching the show and I have been doing more baking. The walnut cake looks delicious. I enjoyed seeing all the projects everyone is working on. Happy stitching!

  4. frayedattheedge says:

    I love that you show the food before the sewing!!

  5. And so many lovely prints to delight in!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

