“Wallender”

Some time ago, well 18th January 2015 at 12.35pm to be exact (according to the time/date on the camera), I took a photo of a box I’d extracted from “the pile” shortly before 12.35pmand was delighted to find that these were its contentsa panel from Reece Scannell and some assorted plain fabrics, mostly Emma Louise brand.  My bowl of perle 8 threads just happened to be near by, and I was soon playing with threads and fabricsand an idea of embroidering the panel was soon formulatingThe idea fermented in the dark recesses of the creative vortex of my brain, until I one day was watching the Kenneth Branagh version of Wallender.  Don’t know if you’ve ever seen it, but long time readers will know of my propensity for crime drama and fiction.  Luckily I looked up from my sewing to see the wall in the office and ideas gushed like a geyser.

After some careful measuring and a little trial and error with the blocks, this quilt top was made, then the hand quilting began and now it’s finished.I used a variety of stitches and perle 8 thread to embroider the panelthen used the plains to make the half-rectangle-triangles, and the occasional circle block, mixing and matching fabrics as I chose, then hand quilting in a mix of perle 8 and perle 12 to emphasis the diamond shape of the blocks. and now it’s hanging in the family room, another quilt to rotate in this room.  So pleased with this one, and it’s a finish on my 17ufosin2017 list!

(apologies for the pics – tried three times but it’s a strange day here in Melbourne town and the lighting is not good!)

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Wallender”

  1. Judy says:

    I for one am very impressed!

  2. Pamela says:

    This is stunning! Congrats on the finish!

  3. glendajean says:

    This is very motivating and sets the mind running around with possibilities thanks so much for sharing this stunning wee quilt and idea. Congratulations on another finish f a 2017 UFO also LOL Cheers Glenda

  4. Fernanda says:

    Well done you! Looks amazing 😉

  5. Audrey says:

    this is just beautiful! So much character and personality. Love it! And yay for the great moments of creativity.😊

  6. Fun to read that somebody else gets inspiration from a TV film as well, Lovely quilt and well done for the finish. This year I seem te start more than finish.

  7. Sheila says:

    i always look at those lovely Reece Scannell panels, and never know what to do with them… this is quite inspiring

  8. Wow. I think it is all the mystery books you read that nourish your creative mind. Great job.

  9. Kyle says:

    Wonderful color choices. The panel embellishments are fantastic linking it to the pieced body of the quilt, very creative. Congrats on a finish from you 17 in 2017 list!

  10. Oh, well done you! And it is bright and cheerful, a good one to delight in during duller days…

  11. sandi says:

    Very nice, I love it! I’m a Wallender fan also. Hugs,

  12. Fiona says:

    beautiful finish… I love what you have done here…
    Hugz

  13. Suzanne says:

    This wallhanging is really wonderful. Very different than other projects I have seen you make. You are a very versatile quilt artist

  14. Gail Davis says:

    Wow, I absolutely love it! I really enjoy projects with a little bit of everything – stitching, quick (ish) piecing, and some hand quilting to finish it off! Rewarding and colourful. Inspiring!

  15. Jan says:

    It’s fabulous!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

