A very Sewjourn weekend – part 3

The Projects

Of course, it wouldn’t be a weekend away if we didn’t shop and add to our Fabric Libraries and, there is always the necessity of getting something to help out the weekend’s projects (yeah, I know – any excuse!).In the studio, the design wall was put to good use over the weekend, with lots of projects going up as blocks to be arranged (and re-arranged), then hosting the results of sewing the bits together.  Wanna see?

Karen’s blocks made from my “Alice’s Cross” template (VT4038MC)

and altogether with sashing and corner stonesa quilt Karen is making for one of her sistersHelen’s blocks made from my “Sunburst” template (VT4017MC), on pointor square onyes, that’s better, and here it is all sewn togetherHelen worked on more of her applique too

Kaye prepped several projects include her Peacocksone from Kim McLeanand one using my “Elwood Rose” template (VT4019MC)Jenny brought along a needle book she made in primary school – so cute! she finished the backing for a quiltand started sewing blocks for anotherMaree was working on more of her blocksand the quilt was up and down from the design wall before I got my act together to snap a pic AND I also forgot to get a pic of the quilt top that Maree basted and started hand quilting.  I also owe Andrea an apology as I didn’t take any pics of her applique work – grrrrr!

I had a very successful weekend….sort of.  Got these blocks up on the design wall, happy with the arrangement and went to cut the setting triangles only to find I’d brought the wrong fabrics with me!They’re stacked and ready for when I get the correct fabric!  It was then onto my circles.  Decision time.  I was very grateful for all your input, Dear Peeps, but I couldn’t settle on anything really and it was just easiest to go with random…..and I mean REALLY random;  I fluffed the blocks in the tin and then dug my hand in a picked up a block to join yes, I really did do it that way.  I only rejected a couple and went foraging again.  And it turned out pretty well…..Just needs border now……and more circles!  Until then it’s safely tucked back inside the tinThen is was “Steampunk‘s” turn.  I cut out all the setting triangles and the sashing, and had decided to add in corner stones so cut them too ready to start putting it up on the design wall.  But laying it out was all too hard, so I just picked up whichever block was next.Towards the end of the day, I ran out of steam and didn’t have the oomph to push through the final 6 seams, but they’re all ready to go and it won’t take much to get it together.So, all in all a pretty productive weekend all ’round, me thinks!

Thanks to my Sewjourn girls for a fabulous weekend (and Helen for sharing this largesse!)

 

Same time next year?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A very Sewjourn weekend – part 3

  1. Such beautiful work. I love them all! I’ve still not ventured into quilting but I did buy another sewing machine today 🙂

  2. Judy says:

    Wow, amazing work, great photos. Love the Alice’s Cross, it’s on my to do list for sure. Also looking forward to seeing Maree’s finish on Emma Mary and your Steam Punk. Those SP blocks are addicting, just started stitching mine yesterday, after struggling with adding the seam allowance onto the templates…must be my age!! Thank you for the beautiful post.

  3. Judy says:

    Meredith, are your templates available in the US? Have had no luck finding them.

  4. Carole Minihan says:

    Fabulous work, i too love the Alices Cross, how lo have a sewing weekend plus your eating goodies oh and of course your shopping thanks for sharing from Paris

  5. Marilyn Wilks says:

    Love your circles Meredithe. Inspires me!

  6. Pat Andrew says:

    Random setting is perfect for both the circles and steampunk – they look fabulous. Love that little needle case – everything old is new again. You all had a great stitching time.

  7. Lindy says:

    Great post thank you. Wonderful creations will inspire me to keep stitching in front of Poldark tonight!

  8. My goodness, yes, a very productive Sewjourn. But how frustrating not to have had the right fabric with you. The rafters would have rung with my howls of fury, had it been me!

  9. Kyle says:

    The design wall definitely got a work out. What an inspiring weekend together. I can’t believe you ran out of steam! Everyone’s projects were lovely.

  10. frayedattheedge says:

    The circles and the steampunks look fabulous!!

  11. Chookyblue says:

    a wonderful time away and great projects being worked on…….

  12. thimbleanna says:

    Oh, you lucky, lucky girls!!! Of all your show and tells, your Sojourn posts are my favorites. Looks like you worked on some great projects too — LOVE those circles, and of course, STEAMPUNK!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

