Friday sewing

It was my turn to host Friday stitching and I was up early to bake a fresh loaf of bread, a moist carrot cake, and chicken and sweet corn soup!The table was an eclectic mix; one of my MIL’s cloths; glasses that were Ma Kettle’s; an epergne of my Gran’s (filled with succulent red grapes); Gran’s crystal vase with pale pink roses; Cath Kidston knives and butter dish; everyday china.The Golfer went out and shopped for these afternoon tea items while I was baking; he’s a good lad!Sue’s beautiful hand quilting is going wellMaree is sewing her blocks into bordersKaren worked on another basket blockand I played with my new blocks We were in “the good room” with the fire blazing, and while there was intermittent sunshine outside, it was cold so it was extra lovely to be stitching in warmth with friends……and treats!

Hope you’ve had a great weekend.  Do anything nice?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friday sewing

  1. Sue Whitburn says:

    Beautiful food, beautifully presented and lovely company- what more could a girl want?!!! 😊

  2. Irene says:

    Ce que tu es en train de faire est très sympathique. Il me tarde de voir le résultat.
    Belle journee

  3. A mouthwatering display – literally and metaphorically!

  4. karenfae says:

    had to go back in your link to check out the recipe for the soup it sounds great. Wonderful time with your sewing I bet, nice quilts you all are working on.

  5. Fernanda says:

    Everything looks lovely and sewing too 😁

  6. treadlemusic says:

    Since we are in the heat of summer, my weekend was filled with outdoor events, such as a church service/picnic yesterday in a city park…..on a delightfully cooler day (Thursday/Friday had temps & humidities in the decidedly UNcomfortable range!). Today, a little garment/sundress sewing for the 2 great grands whose birthdays are in the coming days. Will raid my stash for the fabric (quite different from my sewing of years ago, when I would purchase fabric for the garment and sew it! Another stash buster!!!!!). Your table setting is so inviting and the cloth is lovely!! Maree’s stitchings are amazing (as are all, really!!!).

  7. Judy says:

    Such a very smart golfer you have, all looks yummy including the stitching. Now I am going to check out those recipes for our coming Winter.

  8. frayedattheedge says:

    We had a look round a vintage shop on Friday (newly opened in Berwick) ……. we kept pointing out things that we remembered from childhood – oh my, did we feel old!! Could you please send me a care package of your delicious soup and bread!!

  9. Kyle says:

    What a wonderful way to spend a cold day. I think you might need to share with all of us your soup recipe.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

