I had……

Hi Dear Peeps, I had an extreeeeeeemely productive day on Wednesday.

I’m so out of routine at the moment that I’m feeling a little discombobulated – isn’t that a great word?  I’m not walking regularly, meals are haphazard due to illness and not shopping properly, I’ve missed lots of social sewing days, and my sewing room had but a tiny trail of wavy floor leading in and out, so no incentive for productivity there.  It was time to Take Action!

After brekky I put on my grotty clothes and started cleaning out my sewing room, moving everything into the neighbouring lounge room and putting it all into groups (don’t ask – I knew what I was doing!).

Then I cleaned out the shelves in the (small) wardrobe in the spare room, a job that had been on my list for a loooong time, creating lots of bags for the op shop and a few for the rubbish bin in the process.  All these project boxes went from the armoire in the sewing room down to the newly vacated wardrobe shelves.leaving the armoire emptyBut not for long.  I’d been the guest speaker at the Warragul Quilters “Christmas in June” day on Monday, and a lot of my quilts had been packed into suitcases and bags for the show and tell.  (Had a lovely day with the Warragul Quilters and the other quilt groups who met with them on the day.  They were a lovely audience and such a friendly group, and the food from these country women was excellent – thanks ladies!)

This was a good time to rearrange where the quilts live.  Many years ago I cut out a photo from a magazine of a cupboard filled with quilts and put that on my Wish List.  Now was the time; a bit of collecting from other rooms, the unpacking of the suitcases and bags, a bit of folding happened and now when you open the armoire It looks like this!

Probably not as neat as it could be, but it’s hard to fold different sized quilts to the same size (and there was lots more to be done too – no time to waste).  The ones on the bottom shelf are YTBQ (yet to be quilted)!  I’m delighted to have all my quilts in one spot making it so much easier when changing quilts on beds and hangers.

The rest of the day was spent sorting:   I have the 17ufosin2017 projects all in one place; I found fabrics I thought were lost (as Papa always said – “it’s not lost it’s on the farm somewhere”!); I’ve reunited half made quilt tops with their relevant fabrics / patterns; I’ve packed projects into stackable boxes with a list on top of what’s inside.  There’s still a bit to do but I need more boxes before I can go further (where I’m going to stack them when they’re full remains to be seen!).

I really think we need to keep going with our UFO challenge as these project boxes will just languish without some incentive to get them out and explore the contents.  What do you think?  Maybe just 10 or 12 projects each year?

I finally showered at 4.30 and jumped straight into my pj’s just in time to ring Ma Kettle and find out how her day had been (’twas good – thanks for asking) and finally sat down feeling tired but very pleased with myself.  Best of all there’s acres of floor in my sewing room and I can actually walk into it without stepping over bags and boxes.  It’s quite a big room when it’s not so cluttered!  Not looking the other way into the lounge……….

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I had……

  1. treadlemusic says:

    That amoire is definitely photo worthy!!!! My studio is……….well….ummm…….hmmmmm…….I don’t have a lounge to unload into and moving stuff from one side of the room to the other won’t accomplish much of anything (especially if it’s the end of the room with the exit door—-eek!! I’ld be a prisoner for sure! I do have more than a path….kinda….sorta….but the totes really ARE housing an out of control stash. Focusing on using that and cutting way back (to none!) on clients’ projects…except for one that is left from last fall!…..Glad to read such an energetic post……feeling better……….sending many hugs (quilty ones!!! No pins!)…….

  2. Pat says:

    I laughed at your fathers comment – I used to hear the same one, although sometimes it changed to “it won’t be out of the country”. you have inspired me to continue with my sewing room.

  3. Chris says:

    Bravo!

  4. Linda says:

    A very productive day indeed! Love your armoire all now filled up with yummy quilty goodness!

  5. Emily says:

    I’ve resisted a particularly tempting fabric sale all month simply because the fabric I already own is not at tidy and organised. I’m trying to be strong!! I love your quilts in the armoire:)

  6. Karen mactier says:

    Sooooooooo…..when are you coming over to my place ?????

  7. Linda says:

    Goodness, what a lot you achieved in one day! It would have taken me a week. Love your armoire full of quilts – they all look gorgeous. A library of Quilts, just ready to be taken down from the shelves. Good luck with the UFO boxes.

  8. Shasta says:

    All your quilts look fabulous in their new home. I need to do a massive cleanout too and find good homes for all of my belongings.

  9. We often say “Oh well, it’s in the house somewhere”. Clearly all families have their own version!
    You had a productive day, even if you didn’t set a stitch!

  10. Helen F says:

    Ha ha ha M its amazing what you find when you have a clean up!! The amoire looks great with your quilts in it!! Can’t wait to see you sewing room!

  11. Your quilts look lovely all together. I’ve been tidying here too and finding yarn and fabric I’d forgotten about already, not bad for only a year!

  12. We definitely need to keep the UFO challenge going! BTW, how are you getting on with Potty McDotty??!!
    Have a great weekend xoxo

  13. Judy says:

    Great job, a tidy sewing room inspires me. Lucky you, only five tops yet to be quilted.

  14. Well done! You’ve done a great job and really inspired me! I have a craft room upstairs and have taken over most of the dining room. I want to sort it all out, going to be a massive job!! There are tons of crafts represented, not just sewing.

    I also need to get going on 17 in 17, I stalled after having a massive life change at the beginning of the year. I need some motivation!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

