Help!

I’ve been doing some Substantial Progress on my 366 Circles and have the initial 192 blocks* finished.  But how do I set them?

Once I’d finished I painstakingly sorted them into colour ways and realised that even though there are four of each fabric, there are different numbers of each colour ways, so………(please excuse the poor photo quality, ‘Twas a dark rainy afternoon in a south facing room)

Option 1 – blocks of the 4 fabrics (there are purples and greys to go at the bottom)

Option 2  – a colour wash of sorts

Or option 3  – as they came cascading down (you bump one and they all decide to jump ship!) they were put back up in a random arrangement (didn’t do them all, just a general idea)So what do you think?  Any preferences?  Any other suggestions?  All ideas gratefully received!

Thanks Lovelies

Meredithe x

* I’m setting the 192 blocks 12 x 16, then there will be borders around all four sides and the remaining 174 circles will be appliquéd to the borders in a random manner.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Help!

  1. Pamela says:

    I like option 2!

  2. Pat says:

    I think that the random layout looks great. What fun putting all those pretties together.

  3. Judi says:

    Hi Meredithe my preference would be random, but I am a scrappy girl lol. When I squint looking at the pic the red background seems to be the dominant block. I notice that the first row doesn’t have a red background in it. Hope this input is of some help lol

  4. Raelene Sharp says:

    SCRAPPY….xx

  5. Cindy says:

    I think the random arrangement #3. It looks so happy.

  6. Karen Ruta says:

    Hi Meredithe,
    I like option three the best! Organized scrappy!

  7. Joan Wiggins says:

    Option 2

  8. Carole says:

    It’s really hard to choose between the colour wash and cascade, I loVe both of those options.

  9. Jill says:

    I love random too, but as long as a particular colour doesn’t dominate in an area, leaving another weak and unbalanced.

  10. Carol H says:

    I love the colorwash look
    I did mine on the diagonal – but mine were all script fabrics and they all blended

  11. I like option 2 but think I would like option 1 if the colors were organized light to dark but in groups of 4.

  12. Pam says:

    I like the first one!!

  13. Carrolyn v says:

    Love, love, love the scrappy look! It keeps my eyes popping around to discover new favorites!

  14. karenfae says:

    I like number 2

  15. treadlemusic says:

    Definitely #2. The color placement is pleasant and has movement. #1, although pleasant enough, seems to lack the “flow” feel of the second one. #3 (for this block pattern) gives me more of a feel of chaos rather than an acceptable randomness. IMHO…..only!!!!! LOL!

  16. Susie Q says:

    If the “border” is going to be random, then I would do option 2 for the center.

  17. Chookyblue says:

    I’m liking the colour wash style as opposed to random…..

  18. Marian says:

    Your blocks are looking so lovely M!! Ohh i do like ‘a colourwash of sorts’… however, being a scrappy quilt lover that i am, i find myself being drawn to a random arrangement.
    It will look great no matter which layout you decide on!! xx

  19. Judy says:

    I would definitely go random. Put mine together randomly and I love it. My eye goes all over the quilt enjoying each and every block. Did mine in 30’s and it’s a very happy quilt!

  20. ozarknanna says:

    I really like option 1!

  21. Fernanda says:

    HI, the three options look great ! But favorite one is number 2. Good luck deciding😜

  22. Ann says:

    For what it’s worth, I really like option 2 😍

  23. Hi Meredithe, option 3 for me x

  24. Marsha says:

    I vote for option 2. And I like option 3, but option 1 not so much. You’ve put so much work into it and the blocks are lovely.

  25. Liz says:

    I like option 3….more fun and, for me, more in keeping with the feel of the blocks.

  26. Irene says:

    Ma préférence va à l’aléatoire. De toute façon, tu feras le bon choix. Belle journée.

  27. Yoka says:

    Hi Meredith, I would put them in point and try to create zigzags with the colors of the background

  28. Linda says:

    I would choose Option 3. Well done for finishing all the circles.

  29. frayedattheedge says:

    Scrappy, random …….. throw them in the air and see how they land (ok, not helpful!!)

  30. Trudy Wassink says:

    option 3

  31. I prefer the second placement!

  32. Denise says:

    I like both the colour wash and scrappy but my preference would be the scrappy.

  33. glendajean says:

    LOVE number two very very pleasing to the eye, love how the colours bleed in to each other in harmony. Would love to snuggle under it on a cold night LOL Cheers Glenda

  34. Kyle says:

    I found #2 appealing. It had a controlled randomness.

  35. I would go with either option 2 or option 3. If it were for me, option 2, if it were for someone I knew liked randomness more than I do, option 3. If you’re just making it to enjoy making it, whichever option you like the best!

    I know, not being much help, am I..

  36. elainesuller says:

    I like number 2 – the colour wash effect – well done for stitching so many!

  37. Sue Whitburn says:

    I loved the randomness of option 3!they look fantastic- well done in getting through so many x

  38. Deborah Erb says:

    2 although 3 is a close second 🙂

  39. I am a very scattered person, so I vote in this order: 1) random 2) diagonal & 3) in blocks of four. Have fun deciding. I love them all!

  40. audrey says:

    Random would be a very safe bet, but I’m so intrigued by the blocks of 4. Perhaps if you spread the 4-block groupings out in a more random way instead of rows of like colors? Whatever you do, your circles are very sweet.:)

  41. ceciled05 says:

    I love all of your options but the third is (for me !) The best ! Have fun M !

  42. Carole Minihan says:

    I like Option 2.

  43. Linda Tiernan says:

    Personally I like version 3

  44. katharineall says:

    I like the random version.

  45. acityquilter says:

    my choice is option #1…..

  46. Helen F says:

    I like RANDO M “M” – it looks more colourful!!

  47. Nannett says:

    Number 2…….love it….really show off the work you have done.

  48. Gail Davis says:

    A little late in the suggestion box…but I rather like the scrappy, although option 2 looks great too! Happy fiddling!

  49. Sandy B says:

    My choice is definately random….let them play. Also it will be easier to put together. Have fun with it.

  50. Mirjam Hesseling says:

    And I love option 1 and 2. Okay, 1!

  51. Karen mactier says:

    Definitely random !!!!

  52. Sally Carson says:

    No3 Random placement would be nice

  53. mandymunroe says:

    Sorry, I like option 1 – good luck!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

