Sew, stitch, snap, SHARE

It’s been a busy week, including spending a day putting the binding on my “Saigon” quilt!  Yes, another finish for the year….well, almost, it just needs the label.  Carol did a wonderful job with the quilting.

It’s such a big quilt; I need a couple of extra people for a good photo, but here’s one of it on our bedI decided on a scrappy binding, and while I was cutting for the binding, I cleared up the fabrics in the bag that were used to make this quilt.  Sizable pieces, once a strip was cut for the binding, were sorted into colours and put back into the Fabric Library.  Smaller pieces were cut into 5″ squares, 2½” squares and 1½” strips and stacked into plastic containers.  This is a practice I hope will become a familiar routine after completing a quilt (well, one can but hope!).I used my favourite wideback to back this quilt, choosing the grey colourway from Tula Pink’s “Freefall”.and for the label I’ll use a spare block, writing the information in the white sections and then appliqueing it in place.  Shouldn’t take too long to do……..just need to find make the time to do it!

Linking up with Linda and Julie for Sew, Stitch, Snap, SHARE.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sew, stitch, snap, SHARE

  1. Julie says:

    Wow – this is looking fabulous. When you do a scrappy binding, do you sew straight seams or angled to join all the strips?

  2. Your quilt is stunning!!

  3. Karon Scott says:

    The quilt is beautiful and I love the scrappy border. The label idea is very creative.

  4. anudge says:

    A beautiful finish! And a clever idea for the label. Congrats!

  5. Melody A. says:

    Gorgeous!!! what is the pattern? Take care from Iowa

  6. Linda Dutch says:

    I’ve been looking forward to seeing your quilt, it’s wonderful Meredithe! I love the colours and how you’ve used that brown spot, very effective. Thanks for sharing on ‘sew stitich snap SHARE’

  7. Linda Bishop says:

    Visiting you for the first time today. I’ve been having a nice stroll around your blog. I’ll be back!

  8. Leeanne says:

    What a beautiful quilt! I love Tula backing fabrics.

  9. Sue Whitburn says:

    You have done an amazing job- its looks fantastic xx

  10. Cécile says:

    I love scrappy bindings ! I think they are the best !
    Congratulations for your wonderful finish M !

  11. Glenda says:

    Looks amazing! Love it ! 😘

  12. My word, it’s HUGE! Well done indeed!

  13. Annie Gunn says:

    Superb Meredithe – bet you love it!

  14. Kyle says:

    What a fabulous finish. It’s fun, fresh and throughly modern.

  15. Fernanda says:

    Looks amazing Meredithe!

  16. Kaja says:

    It can be hard to get a good photo of a really large quilt, can’t it? I think putting it on the bed works well though and it looks lovely. I like your label approach a lot.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

