Hopeless Hettie

My visit to Ma Kettle was a busy, lovely time, but I came home with a liiiiittle more than I went with.  One of the prizes was this vase which belonged to my Gran (Pa Kettle’s mother), and comes complete with a frog.  I couldn’t leave it behind and doesn’t it look so lovely with these beautiful roses?  They stand up so well with the aid of the frog.I’m a happy girl…..don’t know where it’s going to live when it’s not in use, as the vase cupboard is full, but……I’m a happy girl!Do you have prize possession that you’ve picked up from your parents/relatives, or indeed something you couldn’t resist from a market/shop?

Meredithe x

(Hopeless Hettie is a family saying for a situation where you just can’t help yourself!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hopeless Hettie

  1. I have so many things from family. I try to remind my children when we use them who I got the item from so they will appreciate why I’m a little crazed when they treat them roughly.

  2. Annie Gunn says:

    Oh yes, many Hopeless Hettie moments! My dear old neighbour recently had to move into care and she asked me to chose something from the cabinet and I too selected the cut glass vase, but alas about three times the size of the one you have. I did happen to find a spot to store it, but how wonderful it looks with big spikes of tree blossoms and anything large from the garden, without the fear of it tipping over. She also gave me a cup, saucer and plate. When I got back home I turned it over and it is Winton China. I felt very privileged indeed 💐

  3. BJ says:

    I come from a long line of antiquers/estate sale hunters. I have many pieces of crystal and cut glass, some signed by the artisans who created them, passed down in my family for 4 generations. I’m in the process of sending several of my pieces to the 5th generation. Some of them have the hand-written notes on how to clean and where in the house they should be stored! Your vase is lovely – it makes me want to head to my cabinet and pull one out to fill with flowers. Unfortunately, we still have snow. Thanks for the memories!

  4. anudge says:

    Beautiful vase and roses, and beautiful quilt behind them, too.

  5. Jenny M says:

    I call myself ‘the keeper of the treasures’, when my dear MIL moved into aged care, she couldn’t bear to donate some items to an op shop…..a tablecloth her Mother used, tiny china dolls, and old bibles…..some family members didn’t see the point in keeping these….but I wanted to offer my MIL peace of mind, and told her I would care for these items. That way when she came to visit, she could see where these items where displayed in our home.
    My MIL recently passed away and now those treasures are dear reminders of her life & interests.

  6. Carole Minihan says:

    I am another Hopeless Hettie, i have a vase similar that was ny mothers and their very furst dinner setting that was their wedding present in 1943, i have taken photos of these and many other items around the house and labelled them according whay year and whom it belonged, i hope my family treasure some of these as you do from your family

  7. Chookyblue says:

    yes I have those treasures………..too many of them but can’t get rid of them they are precious………..

  8. Oh, we all have such things. I inherited my grandparents’ dining table and chairs, together with the payment book from the shop they bought it from…

  9. Oh Meredithe, where do I begin? I have so many prized possessions, that I have of late been contemplating a purge. My usual method of “cleaning out” is one for the “keep” pile, one to the “go”. Then, by the end of the day all of the things in the “go” pile end up back in the “keep”. Do you see my problem here? I actually had a Great Aunt Hettie. Today she would be diagnosed with agoraphobia, but in those days everyone just thought she was strange for never leaving her house. I used to wish I could go to live with her (I had five brothers and sisters) in her quiet solitude. Hmmm, guess I haven’t changed all that much!

  10. frayedattheedge says:

    I have lots of things that I acquired over the years from my Mum and Dad ……. I think I “borrowed” them and somehow forgot to return them!!

  11. Judy says:

    What beautiful roses. I collect old, very small frogs and use them to hold tiny little notes and cards that I have received from my daughters and granddaughter.. This way I can read the sweet messages whenever I pass one on a shelf or table.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

