AQC goodies

I had arranged to meet a couple of friends at AQC on Friday and had a delightful morning wandering around with them.  Well, not so much wandering; I had several stands I had to visit, as did my friends, and a special person to meet, and as we were all on a limited time frame this strategy worked very well.  Women on a mission!

There are all kinds of signs up about photos, so I’m sorry I can’t share any quilts with you, but I can show you what I purchased.  I’ve been saving up for this show for quite a while, and you know me – can’t resist especially gorgeous quilty-things!!

I’d seen on Cutting Cloth‘s social media pages a beautiful new quilt that Kelly has designed, and I knew she was taking kits to the show, so that was our first port of call and luckily there were 3 “Ruby May” kits left – it’s proven very popular – and I’m so pleased I was able to get my hands on one.Treehouse Textiles was the next visit where Emma had kits of the gorgeous embroideries she’s been designing and makingThen Maze and Vale to pick up some fabrics and one of Leslie’s extra special limited Drop Cloth pieces…..and I may have picked up a kit for a little “freeform” quilt too!and the last was purely impulse buying, although I did have Sackville and Lane on the list to visit, just for a peruse, I was totally taken in by this embroidery by Mrs Sew and SoDo you think there’s a theme happening here??  I seem to be traveling to The Embroidery Side!  Can’t wait to get started……but which one??

And the special person I had to meet?  Well, that was the absolutely delightful Rachael Daisy, who is just as sweet in person as I knew she would be.  If you don’t already follow her blog and Instagram, you really should check it out.  And if you’re lucky enough to live in Sydney, Rachael is now teaching at Material Obsession and I imagine her classes are fun, inspiring and very informative.  Rachael is such a talented quilter, with a fabulously innovative approach to her work; individual, eclectic and charming.  We’ve been exchanging comments and emails for some time now, so it was wonderful to finally meet her in person.

So that was my quick visit to AQC.  It made me want to come home and sew……..

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to AQC goodies

  1. Judy says:

    So much envy of all your purchases but ….Ruby May…please tell me that is not all Liberty. I think I need time to digest all of this!

  2. Linda says:

    I am so envious of you meeting Rachael! I almost did a couple of years ago when we were in Sydney visiting friends. I love her work – so bright and exuberant. I’m not an embroiderer but can see why you were tempted by the Mrs Sew and So kit. Looks fascinating.

  3. Julie says:

    Sounds as though you had a fabulous day out, love all your purchases, and meeting Rachael Daisy – what a treat. Very envious of everything.

  4. frayedattheedge says:

    Are you going to give up sleeping??!! Lots of wonderful goodies! Please start with Ruby May – those fabrics are delicious!!

  5. Cécile says:

    Enjoy your meeting with Rachael ! We want some pictures M !! :)))

  6. I can just imagine the group of you On A Mission at the show. It’s the only way to survive one of those events, isn’t it!

  7. Fernanda says:

    Ohhh Ruby May….. can’t wait!

  8. Linda Dutch says:

    Some wonderful purchases! Love the look of the ‘rubymay’ quilt! Looks like adding embellishments on quilts is really taking off. I just started to do some on my latest quilt, lots of pretty fun!

  9. stitchydragon says:

    Great new goodies there Meredithe! Hard to pick where to start but I think Ruby May might just edge it for me? So pretty! 😍 That’s the best bit of a day out like that though, the recharged desire to sew when you get home! Have a lovely week, Helen

  10. Marian says:

    How funny! I trained it down with a friend to AQC last Friday can you imagine the squeals if we’d bumped into each other…eeeeeeeek!!! It was fun seeing familiar faces & stalls but the highlight of the day was meeting a long-time blogging friend ‘face to face’ for the first time. Lenora & i met via blogging when we were embarking on our Dear Jane journey… quite a few years ago!
    I see some lovely goodies made their way home with you.. loving the embroideries! I didn’t lose my head completely… just a little fabric splurge and a few itty bitty bits & bobs.. fun, fun!!

  11. thimbleanna says:

    Ooooh, you snagged one of Kellie’s beautiful kits — you lucky girl — I Love that quilt! And meeting Rachel — sounds like you had a great day!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

