Snippets

I have lots to catch you up on, so I’ll put a few things into this one post….if you don’t mind.

I spent a lot of last week up with Ma Kettle (all is well, thank you for asking) and in between our running around I had a little time to walk in her garden. There are lots of plants still flowering despite the heat of northern Victoria this Summer1-blog-feb17and in spite being cut right back, this lemon tree has decided to give itself another chance; Ma is delighted to see it growing a little each day.1-dscn5725Out shopping we scored these on super special and they looked so nice on Ma’s table01-dscn5721Looking out of the train window on the way home, the sky was covered in this strange cloud formation.  It looked like ocean wavesimageand you can see how dry the countryside is; it has that tired end of Summer, dry, worn out, faded lookimageimage

Arriving home, I got to spend a little bit of time in my very messy sewing room, and while I was cutting up the binding for “Kaffe and Linen Triangles” I espied this out of the corner of my eye – don’t worry it was on the verandah, but looked amazing in the sunshine. The spider itself actually looked orange. I can’t believe the size of that web and so intricate.28-dscn5767
On Sunday, I had the pleasure of teaching at the quilt shop‘s first ever Sunday School, along with GJ, Rae and Kim. It was held at Montsalvat in Eltham, a place I’d never been to before. Such quaint olde worlde buildings. You can read about it by clicking the link above. This is the room we were in52-dscn5800all decked out with quilts53-dscn5802and this was my students’ table54-dscn5803all ready with packs of fabric to choose from55-dscn5804as they explored templates and hand piecing. I made my block into a block book 1-dscn5718 and the students were given a pattern to make one too.

The girls had even set up a shop 56-dscn5805The food was wonderful, but I was so busy I didn’t make the time to take photos, so you’ll just have to imagine it all this time!

More tomorrow, my lovelies.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snippets

  1. Amazing spider web.. hardly a collectible item, but think of the different weaves and makers Quilt gatherings and classes are great social experiences..quilters seemed especially into that.

  2. So good to hear from you and glad everything is ok. Hard to believe summer is coming to an end for you as we still have snow on the ground!

  3. What a great idea for your block holder. I am eagerly awaiting my templates as I love this pattern.

  4. elainesuller says:

    Love the idea to turn an orphan block into a block book 🙂 It is a gorgeous block too just perfect for hand piecing!

  5. Cécile says:

    OMG ! This place is a real enchantment ! No need to ask you if it was an amazing class … 🙂 🙂

  6. What a wonderful place for a class!

  7. frayedattheedge says:

    What a fabulous place to have your Sunday School!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

