From “a very fine house”

I had a flying visit to Ma Kettle earlier this week (all is well!).  Due to various circumstances I went by train and as it was just up and back in the day I didn’t want to take any sewing; what I’m up to at the moment is too bulky.  However, I have been angling for some quiet time to read/peruse/savour this book, and a 2 hour train trip proved ideal.This is a beautiful book.  I was very privileged to see some of the quilts in their making when I’ve been stitching with Judy at our sewing group and to see them now complete and elegantly photographed in delightful settings is wonderful.  On the train I read the book from cover to cover and was left feeling calm, encouraged and gently inspired to create beautiful quilts.  (I even went through it again on the return trip!)

Everything is well laid out, Judy’s sentiments are poignant and inciteful, the instructions are clear, there’s a lovely variety of projects and Judy’s inimitable colour sense pervades each of the projects with alluring variety.

If you haven’t done so already, I highly recommend getting this book into your hands and I defy you to not want to make one of these quilts after reading it.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to From “a very fine house”

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Some of my friends have the book and some have it on order. I will look forward to reading it. In the meantime from your 6 January list you have me reading Sulari Gentill’s books. I have already read the first 3 but will wait a week or two before getting the 4th from the library. I am really enjoying them.

  2. Kyle says:

    There isn’t any Quiltmania book that isn’t beautifully done. I’m looking forward to seeing this one.

  3. Gerda says:

    I have the book to…and it”s beautiful !!
    The pillow with the hexagon heart its finished ..I made for my grand doghter
    and now I started with the quilt on page 195 this one wil be for my daughter in law….
    enjou the book..just like I do…;0)
    happy stitching
    Gerda

  4. Viv Downes says:

    Just love your blog and look forward to reading each one as they appear. Keep up the great work !

  5. frayedattheedge says:

    I shall have to put that on my list of books to buy when we move into our new house – there is nowhere to put another book in the flat (unless I gave up using the bath??!!)
    Have a great weekend, Anne xoxo

  6. thank you for the idea!!

  7. Thanks for the recommendation!

  8. Time to study a beautiful book is always precious, and still better to see such wonderful results from a friend’s work!

  9. thimbleanna says:

    Thanks for the review Meredithe — I’ve been eyeing this book — it looks beautiful!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

