Mini Break

I’ve just come home from a Mini Break at the beach with GJ.  I timed it really well; Monday and Tuesday, particularly Tuesday, were very hot, Wednesday there was a cool change with overcast skies, but by the time I got down there just before lunch, the skies had cleared to a fine, mild day.  Then yesterday was one out of the box; beautiful blue skies, warm and with a lovely sea breeze, perfect for the drive home in the late afternoon sun.  And today?  Today is one of those Summer days you “have to have”; a cool change with rain came through in the early hours and it’s raining still and the air is damp and deliciously cool, but it’s perfect for restoring the garden and temperaments in general!1-blog-jan-171So what did we get up to?  Well, I was very slack on the photo front, very quickly taking some just before I packed up to come home.  You’re missing out on food photos – yes we did eat (boy, did we I eat!) but the camera stayed in its case.

With food and drink at hand, and our sewing in hand GJ and I indulged in a binge fest of watching “Boston Legal” which I hadn’t seen a lot of – it was fabulous!  A great $2.00 find by GJ at the op shop!08-dscn5435GJ has been knitting, doing a bit of knitting, a little hand sewing and a little knitting!03-dscn5429I sewed up two and a half more Saigon blocks04-dscn5431and through it all, Lulu slept and dreamed of chasing cats07-dscn5434Ah, the dog’s life!

After leaving GJ, I drove to Mornington to meet a friend, Jo, at Treehouse Textiles.  The shop was so busy with a class in full flow and more friends who were on a day out.  There was some of the new “Outback Wife” from Gertrude Made in store – how could I resist??12-dscn5439I’ve seen Linda’s version of this pattern and loved it, and these fabrics begged to come home with me too!11-dscn5438GJ had told me about a wool shop in Mornington, and as Jo knew where it was, we headed over there for a quick look.  My sock yarn ends can now be put to good use in knitting them up into a blanket!09-dscn5436and this shawl will be a lovely Winter project in graduating shades of blue.10-dscn5437I came home feeling like I’d been away for days instead of overnight!  A sure sign of a great break – thanks GJ et al!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mini Break

  1. Sounds like bliss to me. It’s a long time since I’ve been away overnight. I’m so glad you had a good time Meredithe x

  2. Tracy Rogers says:

    Am LOVING your Saigon blocks Meredithe! Can the pieces be machine sewn, or only hand-pieced?

  3. Jeanna says:

    Sounds like a nice mini break. The yarn you bought is very pretty.

  4. thimbleanna says:

    I LOVED Boston Legal when it was a series a few years ago. Those end-of-show conversations between William Shatner and James Spader were the highlight of my week LOL!!!

  5. Jenny M says:

    Mmmm….Outback Wife, can’t wait until I can hold some in my little paws! Gorgeous colours!

  6. Carole Minihan says:

    Love the Saigon blocks and with todays weather also feel like knitting.

  7. My goodness, I’m not surprised you feel you’ve been away for a week – you really packed in the activity, didn’t you!

  8. Sounds like the perfect break. The sock yarn blankets are so pretty aren’t they? I too have been wondering what to do with leftover sock yarn and scrappy socks don’t appeal to me, love the look, hate the thought of sewing in the ends!

  9. eileenkny says:

    Meredithe, it sounds like you had a wonderful holiday break. I need to ask you-what to do if the motivation to finish one of the 17 in 2017 leaves?

  10. Kaja says:

    Sounds like a lovely break. Your Saigon blocks are very pretty and I’m like all the projects you are lining up too. Boston Legal takes me back – my 2nd son and I used to watch them together – great programme.

  11. Ruth says:

    Glad you had s break. I enjoy seeing your projects.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

