A day out

With Miss Helen on holiday we, Helen, Karen, Maree and myself, took the opportunity to have a bit of a shop crawl.  The others hadn’t been to the quilt shop, so we headed there first.  I knew they’d love it, and from the moment they walked in the door there were exclamations of pleasure and delight.Being a huge Kaffe fan, Helen was mesmerised by this displayAfter nearly two hours(!) of cruising, perusing, drooling and decision making we bundled ourselves and our purchases into the car and headed to nearby Lilies on Brougham for a delicious lunchAs well as a cafe, the front rooms are filled with beautiful homewares and clothes

and as it was a stunning Summer’s day we decided to explore the grounds too

and were about to head down this pathuntil we spotted this signHmm, perhaps just a quick look around insteadI’m sure you’d love to see what we bought, wouldn’t you?

I, of course, planned to buy not a thing………ahemKaren was taken with these tins (notice I resisted, although I did pick them up twice) and a little fabricMaree bought a backing from the specials and a few “lollies” of Kaffeand Helen?  Helen had the time of her life amongst all that KaffePardon?  You can’t see it all?  Oh, ok……this better?and with that book, Helen now has two more quilts in mind to make!

Our next stop was Sewn and Quilted which we always enjoy visiting with its eclectic range of fabrics.They had a new shipment of Liberty which neither Maree nor I could resistKaren picked up some spotsand Helen……….yep, more Kaffe and, ooh, one of my templates !

We stopped at Maree’s for a refreshing cuppa where she showed us this gorgeous op shop find and a close up

and  the back is as good as the frontSuch a lovely day!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A day out

  1. Judy says:

    What a nice day you had, love the Kaffe stash. That second shop looks very tempting.

  2. Helen F says:

    Had the best day M – except for the cat at the end!!!

  3. Kyle says:

    Your shopping seemed pretty restrained with all that temptation.

  4. Pamela says:

    What fun! If I lived closer, I’d love to join you!

  5. Julie says:

    Looks as though you all had a fab day out. Liberty and Kaffe sounds almost perfect. Glad we don’t have snakes in NZ.

  6. Linda says:

    WOW, guess where I need to go…..that shop is new for me, so a day out seems necessary soon!!! I will be gathering my two sisters for a days outing VERY soon!! Looks like a slice of Paradise, and that lunch place looks divine.

  7. audrey says:

    Love seeing all the goodies! Looks like a fun day.:)

  8. frayedattheedge says:

    What a fabulous day out – I am crying tears of envy! I think you need to stage an intervention for Helen – she is definitely addicted to Kaffe!!
    Have a great weekend!

  9. Sue Whitburn says:

    What a lovely day you all had, sorry I couldn’t join in, xx

  10. I think we have a tablecloth very like that one – certainly the technique is the same. I wonder when it was made – and where!

  11. Carole Minihan says:

    Ooh just lovely another shop to go, such lovely goodies, oh and that Liberty

  12. What lovely fun! Nothing like a day out with friends to boost the spirits. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Serena@Sewgiving says:

    Love reading about your days out … feels like I’m there with you instead of staring down a big pile of washing that needs folding!

  14. Miss E says:

    Sounds like a lovely day out… good company, yummy food, pretty fabric

  15. Linda says:

    Hello Meredithe! It looks like a fantastic day, and I love everything in your photos! Thank you so much for sharing this lovely tour. 🙂

  16. Jeanna says:

    What a nice day you had with your friends. I admire your great restraint while visiting the quilt shops.

  17. Nancy says:

    Oooooo!!!aaaaah!!!!!
    A perfect day!

  18. Oh wow. What a day I love all that Liberty and of course Kaffe. Bring the book next time Helen I’d love to have a read.
    What happened with the cat?

  19. thimbleanna says:

    Um…… SNAKE!!!! Looks like you had a great time, in spite of it LOL!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

