A very quick make

For some time now I’ve been on the hunt for a special knitting accessory.  Yes, I’ve found some of what I was after on line and bookmarked some of them, but on Tuesday at the quilt shop, my eye did spy this little kit (oh dear, I’ve just noticed how dirty my cutting mat is, apologies!)with accompanying pattern to make…..but when I saw these pockets my mind went immediately to my knitting needs; I didn’t want/need this for pencils and colouring books, nice though that would have been,I wanted this for my sock DPN’s!

Because I really, really needed this baby, I cleared the decks on Wednesday morning and, UNbelievably, made it up on Wednesday afternoon.  Yep, bought Tuesday, made Wednesday.  I think it’s The First Time Ever I’ve bought a kit and made it up the very next day!

So here it isYou’ll notice mine doesn’t have stars across the front – wasn’t wasting time faffing with them, I was on a mission!  I did faff with different colours Aurfil 12 threads for the quilting, and so pleased with how this turned out (such a fab thread to use for hand and machine quilting).  Also For The First Time Ever, I machine stitched my binding down (always machine it on, but usually hand stitch it down).  Again, I was on fire and hey, it’s a DP needle holder!  Speaking of which, as soon as it was finished, hot off the machine, I hoofed it to the family room, garnered my various DPN’s, whisked them out of their packets and whoosh, in they wentand using a white marking pen, wrote the sizes on the denim above their new homes.There are lots of pocketsincluding a zippered one, and one behind that big enough for a notebook, or a skein of sock yarn!and the little pockets across the front are ideal for all those other knitting accoutrements.(Ooh, I’ve just seen lots of stray threads in this big pic!!).  If I’d thought about it a bit more, I think I would have put bag batting between the outer and inner to give it more body (just a hint for you Kim), but overall I’m very pleased.  The pattern was mostly easy to follow – had to think about a couple of steps, but as I made it all became clear.

So now I don’t have to crowd my knitting bag with packets of needles, wrestling to get them out.  They’re ready, waiting in my new DPN folder!  Ah, such satisfaction!!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A very quick make

  1. Linda says:

    What a good idea…….. sew organised! Very impressed that you completed the project the day after you bought the kit. Obviously a lot more sock making in your future. I still think you will make 17 pairs in 2017.

  2. Carrolyn v says:

    Very nice!! Bags and folders etc are the best! Love it!

  3. Annie says:

    Go girl. I love things to be useful and this little treasure certainly is that. I can think of other uses too. May have to look out for the pattern & kit too. Looks like you have your mojo back! Kind regards, A

  4. That is very clever and oh so pretty 🙂

  5. Shirley Sherratt says:

    That is a great idea. I may have to make one of those.

  6. Kim Bastiani says:

    Well done! Looks SO good – thanks for the tip ☺️👏🏻

  7. frayedattheedge says:

    I have tweed pockets for my straight needles, but now I need one like yours for my DPNs ……. and also one for my circular needles!! Have a great weekend, Anne xoxo

  8. Cécile says:

    Your kit is a success ! That’s a very good idea to clean your knit accessories !

  9. Gail Davis says:

    Noice!!! Love a little handy bag for easy location of tools and knick-knacks! Can understand your excitement in getting it done pronto too! 😊

  10. Susan says:

    Isn’t it the best feeling when you feel totally compelled to make something. This is a gorgeous and practical make…….complete with a rather lovely looking skein!

  11. Sandi says:

    I love it and yours is lovely! I need one for my needles too. Hugs,

  12. It is amazing how quickly you can move when you really want something, isn’t it!

  13. rachaeldaisy says:

    It’s fabulous!! Now you’ll be able to knit twice as many socks!!

  14. Linda Dutch says:

    A very clever quick make! and so handy for your knitting bits & pieces!

  15. Fernanda says:

    Very clever girl! How good is to have everything in one spot. Well done👏👏👏

  16. Wondrous. I’m curious to know what brand of knitting needles you use. They look very swish, unlike mine which are mostly elderly but all extremely utilitarian. I sent my menfolk a link to some I’d like for Christmas. Yeah, right. Buy them myself, I think, or I’ll never get them 🙂

  17. Sally says:

    I have a similar folder probably around 30+year old holding all my crochet hooks.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

