Discombobulated 

I’m about to have a winge, so if you’d rather not hear (and I totally understand if you don’t) then now’s your chance to quietly slip away and visit someone else happier and more positive…………..

If you’ve chosen to stay, I’ll try not to be to winge-y!  Not sure if it’s the time of year, the residue from my recent indisposition, the weather (we can’t seem to get any more than two days at best of Spring weather before we’re back to cold, wet and miserable), or it’s just “me” but I’m feeling rather discombobulated, out of sorts, can’t settle to anything sewing wise (my room is a mess – again – and I’m doing the dragonfly dance – hovering over several projects and not making moves to do any of them), and in the family room I have two bags of fabric at my feet wanting to be cut up into different blocks – they’ve been there for several days over a week………..

I do know this “phase” will pass, but it’s darned annoying while it’s hanging around.  There are several things that need to be done – not interested – but I did manage to clean out and tidy the laundry today.  Yes, a small sense of satisfaction but still not getting those other things attended too.

However, I did go for my hair appointment to day (like it? always looks nice when just done) and while I was waiting for the goo to do its trick I found this on InstagramSo I shall endeavour to be kinder to myself at present.

On a brighter note, first sock of pair 13 is done and second one started.Pattern is “Muddy Daffodils” from Clare Devine.  Yarn is Debbie Bliss Rialto Luxury Sock colour 05.  Not bothering to try to yarn match, quite liking the idea of “odd” socks.

Anyone else feeling discombobulated?  Or is it just me?  Ah well, tomorrow is another (hopefully sunny, Spring) day………

Much love from your mojo-less blogger

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Discombobulated 

  1. I have times like that. Too many things on the go I think then you either can’t prioritise or feel guilty for not getting back to something. Hope you feel better about stuff soon.

  2. Gai Haines says:

    YUM, They’re my colours, so if they don’t fit you, send them my way, I’ll look after them.
    I think lots of us are looking for their mojo at the moment. I even dusted in my sewing room today. Had to hunt for a duster, tho. Hope you find your mojo soon.

  3. Ali Fergusson says:

    Hi there Meredith !
    You are not alone – I put it down to the weather myself – here down the south coast of NSW it is wild and windy cold one day then hot the next and did I mention the wind ?!!! Perhaps too the ongoing “global political meltdown” is getting everyone unsettled ?
    Personally I am suffering from too many projects too much fabric and too much yarn …..normally not a prob but at present it is all just overwhelming.
    Here’s to a speedy recovery to us all.

    cheers
    Ali

  4. Julie says:

    I’m a bit like that too. Think I’ve lost my sewjo. Maybe just take time out to do something totally different, or do nothing much. Read some new books/magazines, paint your toenails, listen to happy music, watch a movie – give the crafty stuff a little break. I am sure you will soon feel energised, probably once the sun stays out and warms things up.

  5. A. Bouwman says:

    That dragon fly dance feels very familiar. But I agree with the saying that nothing blooms all year so it will pass. Be kind to yourself. Greetings

  6. frayedattheedge says:

    I shall prescribe my best remedy for you …….. a glass of well-chilled wine, a square or two of your favourite chocolate, and a good book to read. If desired the above prescription can be consumed while languishing in a delicious bubble bath!!!!!!
    Maybe your mojo is on its way to walk on the beach at Berwick with me – if so I will give it a good talking to and send it back home. Or, if it has any sense, it is relaxing on a tropical beach, while a handsome young man brings it colourful drinks with little paper parasols!!

  7. Annie says:

    Meredithe, Chill Out! Nothing some bubbles in a glass and also a bath, plus chocolate, and a good book can’t fix. I am sure it has a lot to do with the weather, world affairs & a fast looming Christmas all having something to do with the lack of enthusiasm. You can be assured that you are not alone! Just tackle things that you enjoy, no use doing things that you don’t want be doing at the moment. If you haven’t walked for a while, get back out there – great therapy for the body & sole. Big hugs.💐🌺🌼

  8. Sue Whitburn says:

    Ah, so that’s what it is!!- at least I can put a rather colorful name to woes-Have decided it’s the season/weather/cold!! Xx

  9. June Hamilton says:

    I’m sending you a big hug. A night out with good food, good wine and good company is what I prescribe. Take care of yourself girlfriend

  10. Susan says:

    I feel like I’m cheating on my quilting with knitting!! I hope your creativity stabilizes soon.

  11. Fernanda says:

    I hear you loud and clear!!! In the same boat 🙂

  12. I’m not discombobulated at the moment, but it has been known to happen! My sympathies – go out for a nice afternoon tea and then finish your socks. I’m sure your enthusiasm will return soon!

  13. Karen Goad says:

    I think sometimes the change of seasons can do that to you. What is that form called that you have your sock on? does it come in one size or the size that you want to make your sock – I am not a knitter but keep telling myself to learn. hope you get to feeling like your old self soon!

  14. Dorothy Matheson says:

    Here in Texas we are totally tired of the political mess!. It is going into winter here and I am having to go ahead and have a knee replacement. The other knee is done and it was horrible to recover from. I have way too many responsibilities to manage to have to take months away from them. My sympathy to you.

  15. Judy says:

    Meredith, I agree with Annie. You just need to chill and just do what you feel like doing at the moment. Weather can be a real stress factor, not to mention what is going on here in the USA politically! After thinking more on this….could you be on sock overload?? Take it easy, it will all come around.

  16. Karen says:

    Totally understand how you feel and I think it hits most of us at different times but indulge in Annie’s prescription, more than once if needed, and your mojo will return

  17. MrsCraft says:

    Oh no, sorry you’re feeling like that. I think it’s the time of year. Your sock is beautiful if that’s any consolation. 😊

  18. Helen F says:

    Ditto M – I have been discombobulated for months – chasing my tail and not accomplishing anything!! looking forward to Saturday!! Sox look good – you will probably have them finished by then!!!! hugs

  19. For me, it’s too much time on social media, not enough time doing what I love. The socks look fab and if neither of us makes 16 for 2016 I think we will have both done ourselves proud ❤

  20. Fiona says:

    It was lovely to see you today. What is the blue plastic thingy in the sock ?

  21. Kyle says:

    Not to worry. You’ve gotten some good suggestions and it will all get done eventually. Enjoy the moment.

    • Miss E says:

      Sending you lots of love and hugs! I’ve found the same thing lately – dressmaking pattern pieces and fabric all over the coffee table, a half-finished quilt over a chair, and a half-knitted sleeve in the knitting bag. I did manage to sew a button on the other day!

  22. Gail Davis says:

    Goodness, yes!!! Understand completely, and I’m so glad that you have shared this ‘stage’ – feeling your discomfort! I, too, have put it down to the weather which simply doesn’t want to improve. Where’s that gorgeous clear sky and sunshine which we all yearn? On a happier note, fortunately, fabric does not go off and when in the mood can even be re-imagine into another glorious project! That’s the best bit! 😉🌻🌺🌷☀️

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

