Saturday stitching

Where has this week gone??  I’ve been doing lots of domestic stuff; all good, but boring for photos and blogging.  But let’s catch up on last weekend.

Stitching was at Helen’s on Saturday.  The weather that day blasted us all back into the depths of Winter.  When I left for Helen’s it was 8 degrees, with heavy clouds producing torrents of rain and even some hail, then unexpected pockets of sunshine.  At one stage as I ventured down the freeway I had headlights on, windscreen wipers going full pelt and had to put sunglasses on as up ahead the sky cleared and the sun was glaring off the wet road.  I know Melbourne is renowned for four seasons in one day, but this was ridiculous!  By the time I reached Helen’s it was a balmy 12 degrees…….brrrr!

Warm and dry inside, we settled in for an afternoon of nattering and stitching…….and a bit of afternoon teaThis much loved doona cover belongs to Sue’s daughter who is very reluctant to give it up, so Sue has trimmed away the fraying edges, sandwiched it with a wadding and is hand quilting in variegated thread to make it into a throw her daughter can still use and love.and Sue has recently returned from a visit to the UK to see her Mum, and on her travels found theseHelen has all her appliqué blocks finished now, and she started to lay them out to show us(I’ve since heard that it’s all sewn together and awaiting borders!)

Kaye has brought “Dear Jane” out of her box Miss V is crocheting some granny squaresand she recently purchased this beautiful hand woven scarf on a trip to Tasmania, woven, I might add, by a 7-year old girl!Karen is stitching blocks, using my “Daisy Days” template setMiss S picked up a sock puppet kit and spent some time making it up for one of her daughtersand I worked on a new sample for a template……Hope you’ve had a good week.  More soon……..promise.

Meredithe x 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday stitching

  1. I love the variegated projects your group is working on. The sashing Helen has chosen for her appliqué blocks is fantastic. It really sets off the blocks – I would have imagined it would have taken your eye away from the appliqué detail, but not so! The plate of jam tarts took me back to being a little girl in the early 1950s – my Mum made them pretty much every week and I was allowed to put the teaspoon of jam in the middle and then play with the pastry trimmings. Such simple things were marvellous to us then. Today they would be competeing with Xboxes, tablets, Theme parks etc! Can’t imagine what Mum would make of today’s world. She would be 106 years old now.

  2. treadlemusic says:

    Helen’s appliques are stunning as is your sample piecing. Luv the ‘treasures’ found along the way. Your ‘nosh’ photos has prompted me to head to the breakfast table for such. Ta……………

  3. frayedattheedge says:

    Helen’s blocks are fabulous – I’m assuming the fabrics are by her beloved Kaffe!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

