A trip to town

On Friday Helen and I made the train trip into the city, alighting at Flinders Street and crossing the road to Federation Square, then finding our way to the Ian Potter Gallery to visit the “Making the Australian Quilt – 1800-1950” exhibition.

As the promo says, this is “the first major exhibition of its kind to bring together the rich works that constitute Australia’s quilt heritage.”  It is a wonderful exhibition with so much to see and wonder over.  The richness of the colours after all these years, the fabulous use of fabrics, the “make do” aspects in quite a number of quilts, and, ironically, the “modern-ness” of many of the quilts makes for fabulous viewing and set my mind and imagination into overdrive!

And best of all photos were allowed! (taken with my phone, so not fabulous) Here’s a few to whet your appetite……..

As well as the quilts there was some clothing too, and several amazing Mary Jane Hannaford quiltsHexagons, embroidery, broderie perse, fussy cutting, silks…….something for everyone.Of course, we both had to buy the book referencing the quilts, and I’m looking forward to indulging in a great read!The exhibition closes on 6th November, so if you haven’t been get there soon, I highly recommend it!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A trip to town

  1. Anne says:

    Hi Meredithe. Great post – hoping to get there next week to the exhibition. Love AGG – wish I had seen the original before I started mine as I love the Grecian border, but have already prepped all of my teardrops. Still time to modify I guess. I am about 1/3 way – big job! Your girls were certainly very productive at your last class too. Hope you have totally recovered. A

  2. Carrolyn b says:

    Thanks for the lovely quilt pix….i never cease to be amazed at peoples designs and talents! How wonderful that these pix and quilts can be shared with thosr of us on the other side of the world

  3. Carole Minihan says:

    Thanks Meredithe for wetting my interest to make a visit, how lovely you have the beautiful book to droul over

  4. frayedattheedge says:

    What an interesting exhibition – and of course you had to buy the book! I love the patchwork dressing gown – it reminded me of the Dolly Parton song about her Mum making her a coat from rags, and how she sewed it with love in every stitch.
    Super work by your pupils – you have certainly been cracking the whip!

  5. Cécile says:

    OMG ! I love these quilts…. Thank you for sharing M !
    xoxo

  6. Chookyblue says:

    Omg I am so not jealous now as I am coming down to see it…….. Love your pics and I am so excited I am busting almost…….

  7. Chookyblue says:

    Oh and I already got a copy of the book so better get some reading in fast….

  8. Fabulous. Thank you so much for sharing!

  9. Carrolyn v says:

    Isnt it a wonderful world that you can share that awesome exhibit with those of us on the other side of the world! Wow!

  10. Dorothy Matheson says:

    The book goes on my wish list. If I can get it here in the US What a wonderful visit you made.

  11. What a treat – and an inspiration to boot!

  12. Hilda says:

    Glad you enjoyed it Meredithe – not to be missed in my opinion too! If I only lived closer I’d be back for another look 🙂

  13. Hi Long, longtime USA follower of your blog. Would you tell us all about the book number of pages? Wondering if its worth me trying to purchase? Please keep blogging

  14. Jenny M says:

    I can’t wait, girlfriends & I are going on Sunday to see the exhibition.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

