“Bush Walk”. FAL2017

Yesterday I realised that September is rapidly disappearing – where has it gone?? – and that Friday would not only be the end of the month, but the end of this quarter’s FAL.  

This quilt, with its prepared binding, has been sitting like this for…….well, quite some time, that’s why it was on the FAL list.So yesterday morning I attached the binding by machine, then hand stitched all afternoon [with very pleasant company, I must say!] and before I knew it…..TaDa!This is “Bush Walk” one of my designs.  I wanted to make sampler of sorts, but not in any of the standard formats so I started with a corner of fabric and “built” blocks on two sides, separating them with strips of fabrics.I chose a wacky backing (a Jane Sasserman fabric) and a spot bindingand had great fun with fabrics and blocks.I’m so pleased to have this quilt finished, and another tick on my FAL Q3 list.

Meredithe x 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “Bush Walk”. FAL2017

  1. alison says:

    What a fresh and fun quilt! I am a traditional appliquer but also love the cheerfulness of modern quilts. You must be very satisfied to see it finished.

  2. Annie Gunn says:

    Well done Meredithe – such a bright & cheerie quilt. Love the fabics & colours. Your last post on Millrose was great too. Such a productive lot! Ma’s garden is also humming along nicely too. You always make us envious with all of that gourmet food that always seems to be produced wherever you go. Enjoy spring while it lasts.

  3. lyn lindsay says:

    Hey Meredithe we keep good company with incomplete works, a hexagon quilt I confess is years and years old, so close to finished why???? never mind ready for another day, congrats on completing yours, looks great and a fabulous backing fabric and love spot or stripe bindings, happy sewing, thanks for your reply email from the other day.
    Lyn

  4. Linda says:

    I love your Bushwalk Quilt! So much to look at and the red spotty binding is perfect. Love the backing too, again just the right choice.

  5. helen says:

    Good morning! I love this quilt!!
    And the fabric with the leaves is just great how it brings it so well all together! Perfect!
    Best wishes!

  6. Suzanne says:

    I love it. Nice way to use a bigger print and “see it”

  7. thimbleanna says:

    What a beautiful quilt Meredithe! I love all the bright and bold fabrics!

  8. lona long says:

    I love your happy quilt! I keep looking at it and seeing new elements! Brings a whole new meaning to a sampler quilt! 🙂

  9. Scarlett says:

    What a fun and wonderful quilt!!

  10. *dances a joyful jig* What a cheerful sight!

  11. Kyle says:

    What a vibrant and energized finish. The colors and patterns blend so happily together. It’s a great design.

  12. Linda Dutch says:

    What a fun sampler! Love all the bright colours and so much to look at, and the spot binding is a great final touch!

  13. rachaeldaisy says:

    Congratulations on a beautiful finish!! It’s such a fun mix of blocks and happy colours. I love the backing fabric!! I only ever had a small piece of the fabric, it looks wonderful on mass.

  14. Maree says:

    Looks terrific finished X

  15. Carolyn says:

    I love your quilt. It is beautiful and happy, just like a bush walk should be. I like how you designed the quilt and I particularly like the leaf fabric on the front.

  16. Melody Anderson says:

    Hi Meredith,

    Love this quilt, you wrote this is one of your designs, is there a pattern for it?

    take care, Melody

  17. Lucy says:

    This is beautiful Meredithe. Lots of love, Lucy xx

  18. audrey says:

    Love this! Such fun fabrics.:)

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

