Class show and tell

Morning

Jo has finished the top of the quilt she is making for her grandson, with his other grandmother.  Some lovely shared sewing by two quilters for a special lad.

Jo has finished her centre for Briar Hill too and we cut all the sashing so she can sew it all together.  Should be ready to show you in a couple of weeks.

Carole has three blocks finished now

and she set up another in class 

Sue E had packed up without letting me know (naughty, naughty, these girls know the rules; no packing up until a photo is taken!) so I just have her work peeking out from the top of her bag – one side is appliquéd down and in class she set up the second side and started on the appliqué.

and Denise is diligently blanket stitching.

Afternoon

Lyn stayed all day; in the morning she made bits and sewed bits together

and by the end of the day Lyn had 26 Christmas trees, all in their groups ready to form borders

Jane enjoyed making circles and appliqueing them to these sweet blocks

Fernanda joined us and we had a discussion about a design for these blocks she’s been making

and Tineke had fun learning more new embroidery stitched for her felt birds.

Meredithe x 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Class show and tell

  1. All so beautiful. I thought of you today as the quilting shop near here had 25% off everything. The place is huge! I would have no idea where to begin 😦 good news is that they sell yarn too 🙂

  2. Linda says:

    Love Tineke’s collection of threads. Any idea what they are? A friend used to have a fell of the variegated pink/ yellow one and she has never been able to find a replacement. Some great work going on in your get-togethers.

  3. Rich colours, bright colours, soft colours – a wonderful kaleidescope!

  4. Karen Goad says:

    Awhile back I had asked you what all you used to hold your wool in place while working on – glue or fuse and you told me staples – I must admit I was a little surprised but I tried it on mine and it works so great!! I have been doing it that way now and it is so easy and less time consuming then putting a fusible under it – thanks!!

  5. Carrolyn v says:

    Such sweet blocks! The birds too are adorable!………as I have so often said, “. So many wonderful inspirations and ideas but so little Life Expectancy to do them all!!!! How do I prioritize???? (Maybe I just start them all and have wonderful UFOs for my estate sale!!….but had fun)

  6. frayedattheedge says:

    I love the birds – I must move mine up the to-do list!! I also love Denise’s woolly bits – I had forgotten about using staples, I must make a note!! As always, lots of wonderful projects.
    (Do I remember that you did some steam punks??!!)

  7. thimbleanna says:

    Oooh, a beautiful Steampunk! I love that the Grandmas are working together on it. Lots of pretty projects — as usual from you guys. I love the projects with the little appliqued circles too!

  8. Such fun! That buttonhole stitching on the wool applique is so tiny! I thought it might be by machine!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

