In the botanical gardens

After our trip to the BWM, we decided we needed a walk, and Ma suggested the recently revamped Bendigo Botanical Gardens.  (I didn’t have my camera so these were all taken on my phone.)

Dusk was beginning to fall, shadows were long and the sun was low.  Signs of Spring were around, but the air was chilly and we were glad of coats and hats.  Lots of families and couples were enjoying their walks and play time; we were surprised at the number of people out and about at that time of day.

This walkway will be stunning in a few months time when the vines are in leaf and the grapes are growing.

The children’s play ground looks like great fun (Ma will have to take Poppet there on her next visit)

complete with this gigantic timber chair

and a welcoming hammock

Can you see the tree beyond the hammock?  Its branches fall all the way to the ground making the best “cave”

with another entry/exit on the other side.

This unusually coloured duck came by for a chat

and as I was taking this pic of the nearby billabong

Ma watched him waddle over to the bank, launch himself into the water and take a paddle

Beds of daffs

and tulips are blooming.

We wandered over the bridge

and were stunned by the perfect reflections.

Lots of other flowers are starting to come to life.

Blossoms abound.


By now it was really chilly, so we headed back to the car, home and a hot brew to warm us up, well satisfied with our stroll together.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In the botanical gardens

  1. Judy says:

    What a perfectly lovely day, thank you for sharing your walk.

  2. Carrolyn v says:

    Truly lovely! I would never have imagined such diversity in Australia. I know so little about it! Thank you for sharing your day!

  3. glendajean says:

    What a beautiful walk in the park I really felt i was there Thank YOU> Cheers Glenda

  4. Cécile says:

    Spring is all around in Australia Meredithe…enjoy !
    Thank you for sharing 🙂

  5. Jill says:

    My old stomping ground, sigh! Next visit to Bgo I will have to take a detour to the Gardens, which I drive past en route to my parents. I was amazed by the beauty shown with your photos. My childhood encompassed visits to the gardens to see the monkeys and birds, as kids we didn’t have expensive outings. My memories include seeing peacocks wandering freely around the grounds and how beautiful they were especially when ‘fanning’ their tails. The caretaker lived in the house near the entrance that is not used anymore, and it was a one way track around the gardens. My worst memory was being bitten by a monkey as I was trying to sit on the rail surrounding its cage, and I put my hand against the cage for leverage. Very painful injury.

  6. Chookyblue says:

    what a beautiful spot to visit…………

  7. Hilda says:

    I enjoyed strolling in the gardens with you Meredithe – thanks for taking us along! Spring is definitely in the air 🙂

  8. Gorgeous.
    BTW – my replies to your comments have been bouncing for a couple of weeks.Not sure why…

  9. Carole Minihan says:

    I found myself walking with you both, thankyou for sharing.

  10. rachaeldaisy says:

    Thank you for taking us for a stroll around these beautiful gardens.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

