Day 1 and class show and tell

Thank you all so much for your enthusiastic response to our “1 hour a day” project!

Just to clarify a few things

:: you can use your time for any crafting project; knitting, sewing, quilting, whatever you want
:: the “1 hour” is a minimum! You can stitch/knit/sew to your heart’s content, all day if you choose, or until your fingers wear out!
:: this is not a competition; it’s a challenge with yourself to get a minimum of an hour’s work done on whatever project/s you choose

So, how did you go on day 1? I had a busy day (hence the post today), but in the late evening I did manage a couple of hours and not only finished MyDearFIL’s socks (yay! One tick on my FAL Q3 list), but I started on another pair for myself (another on the FAL Q3 list).

20160718-104701.jpg
Let us all know in the comments how your Day 1 went………

I almost forgot to show you class events from last week!

Morning

Jo’s quilt is back from quilting

20160718-110647.jpgshe’s been busy making blocks

20160718-112212.jpgand in class Jo started on the centre of her “Briar Hill” quilt

20160718-110854.jpgHelen has been bitten by the sock bug

20160718-110916.jpgand in class she’s designing a new woolly bits wall hanging

20160718-110956.jpgMarilyn stitched her little fingers off in class and put two hexie rows together

20160718-111037.jpgBeth cut out more blocks for her new quilt

20160718-111105.jpgLeanne worked on the borders for the corner blocks

20160718-111134.jpgKaren learnt another new stitch (I think wheat sheaf?)

20160718-111208.jpgSue E’s box of pentagon flowers continues to grow

20160718-111237.jpgand Sue W was making her quilted piece into a pillow with a cross over back.

20160718-111323.jpg

Afternoon

Helen has most of her friendship star blocks made

20160718-111414.jpgand she found some new fabrics to go in with her hexies from the new range in the store of “Day in the Country” fillers – they’re fab!!

20160718-111517.jpgFrances made another block

20160718-111545.jpgAnn’s first block is almost together, and another is almost cut out

20160718-111630.jpgTineke was making her pentagon flowers and got to appliqué one down too.

20160718-111732.jpgLyn stayed all day and made binding

20160718-111804.jpgand with some judicious cutting of fabric, and with two seams left to do, almost finished the top of a table runner.

20160718-111911.jpg

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Day 1 and class show and tell

  1. Juliann says:

    Wow! Some beautiful,projects and inspiration. It is still Sunday here and I got the body of my sweater cast off, now the sleeves. I also did a bit of ironing to get some fabric ready for a sewing day this week. Now I have a few hours of TV time with my appliqué so off to a good start.

  2. Nannett says:

    I did great today…started on a men’s scarf for Christmas and I was give a long coat sweater size 2X…to big for my by 6 sizes…but what I have done is start taking it apart. One long sleeve and I gave 3 balls of wonderful wool to play with….tomorrow I take the other sleeve off…

  3. Gai Haines says:

    Ironed silk ties for 2 hours to make a string something. Also, I’ve knitted socks for 10 years now, some now have Boro mending, but there is nothing more comfortable than hand knitted socks.

  4. Annie says:

    Day 1 – spent 1 1/2 hrs embroidering one of the last 4 corner blocks for my Cornelian Quilt, which is a love hate project. Totally over it as it is such a big job. It will be lovely when finished though I am sure.

    Some great work on your blog from your weekend class. Well done ladies!

  5. mandypegs says:

    One hour a day, I can do that, thanks for the challenge.

  6. Carrolyn v says:

    Worked four hours on wedding quilts and two more blocks for the Splendid Sampler QAL

  7. Carrolyn v says:

    Four hours working on wedding quilts (strip piecing) and row more blocks on the Splendid Sampler QAL

  8. Carrolyn v says:

    ..two more blocks on the Splendid Sampler QAL

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Working on 3rd rag quilt for 3 great nieces. just needs another couple of hours. That will be my hour for Tuesday. 5 hours spent Monday with group and same will occur Wednesday with another group.

  10. elainesuller says:

    I snatched a few minutes/1/2 hour here and there yesterday, it’s amazing how it all adds up! having everything prepped makes picking up my appliqué and putting it down really easy – thanks for the nudge, I forgot how much I miss not stitching everyday 🙂

  11. A. Bouwman says:

    Not every day I manage to sew for an hour but I try to regularly. Today an hour quilting and maybe some sewing.

  12. Ruth says:

    Hoping to get myself inspired. The socks look wonderful. Feels so good to finish things!

  13. Annie Gunn says:

    Day 1 – 1 1/2 hrs spent embroidering one of the final four corners on my Cornelian Quilt. Or, should I say my love/hate quilt. Such a huge project that I am totally over… However, having said that, I know that I am going to love it again once it is finished.

    Day 2 – knitting a snood for my daughter. 14 ply wool and size 15mm needles purchased this morning, so needless to say, almost finished it in one day while being a passenger driving 200kms today. Looking forward to Day 3 and what it might bring.

  14. Karen Goad says:

    I easily spend one hour a day quilting at the hand quilting frame and then another hour or more with hand stitching – now that I am finished with machine quilting and binding a baby quilt I will be back to more hand stitching on wool applique. Thanks for sharing all the photos of hand work – love seeing it.

  15. Cécile says:

    What a beautiful day you spent with your friends !
    And you know what ? I’m going to look for a pattern to make a ……. pair of socks !
    You tempted me ! :)))))

  16. Good to know you had such as successful day. The sock epidemic seems to be spreading…!

  17. Kyle says:

    The gals in your classes just keep stitching and creating.

  18. Dorothy Matheson says:

    I did a lot on Sunday. Off and on. Finished sewing crumbs together in to two pieces and then cleaned up the pile and put it all back into its bag for another day. Took up the top of a pair of pants because too big around the waist.
    Later in the afternoon I managed to get some blocks put together that I had cut the fabric for on Saturday. TV quit in the sewing room so I did too. So not all done.
    In the evening I crocheted long enough Probably 1 1/2 hour to finish up one hot mat for a Christmas gift.
    Today Monday I paid a bill for Mother and called in a cat food order for her kitty on a special diet and balanced her check book and got her computer to come on and lastly got books up on her Kindle she would like to read. Showed her again how to use it. (she wrote it down but even so probably won’t be able to do it.) So I will check again. I try to keep books on the shelf she hasn’t read and she can to that.

  19. There is so much fabulous work, I can’t pick a winner this week. I managed to have a bit of fun sewing yesterday, playing with some fabrics from the scrap basket. A welcome respite from exhibition organisation!

  20. rachaeldaisy says:

    Lots of wonderful sewing going on!! I love your socks, the stripey patterns in them are so wonderful.

  21. evalinamaria says:

    So many beautiful stitches, well done ladies!
    I also was crossing some stitches today, you can see them on my blog.
    Evalina, This and that…

  22. hildaquilts says:

    You are such a great motivator Meredithe! I can’t get enough of all these delightful socks and I bet your FIL loves his set1

  23. faithnchls says:

    What beautiful work everyone has done! I just love those socks and they make me wish I could knit!

    I would love to join in your on your “1 hour a day” challenge! What a great idea – an hour set aside just to do crafts!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

