FAL Quarter 2 – 2016

Well! I’m very pleased to be able to tell you that I have completed my FAL Q2 list.

For. The. First. Time. EVER!! Just a tad excited!!

Ahem…..taking a deep breath…….starting at the beginning.

Oh, and Ma Kettle – if you’re reading this you need to STOP READING NOW! I’m serious – all be be revealed to you soon, but you can’t read this post any further. Love you Ma xx

1. Sock knitting.

I had hoped to finish this pair of socks…….and here they are

20160704-153330.jpgfinished, worn, washed, worn, washed, worn, washed……..

(I did also finish a further 5 pairs – shame they weren’t on the list!!)

2. Quilt to be bound

I did find the binding for “Dashing Hues” which I was particularly pleased about as there are two borders on the quilt and I wanted to have both as bindings

20160704-155507.jpgand it’s labelled too

20160704-155544.jpgOf course, The Golfer is out having a golfing lesson, it’s too cold and miserable to go outside to photograph these quilts and I want to do this post NOW, so you’ll have to make do with snippet pics – apologies!

20160704-155723.jpg

20160704-155743.jpg

3. Other quilt to be bound

Alas, the binding for “Cooba Lane” did not turn up, necessitating a purchase (aw, shucks!). But it too is labelled

20160704-155913.jpgand bound

20160704-155941.jpgThe carefully observant of you will notice that the binding for one appears around the label of the other and vice versa; ’twasn’t meant to be thus, but in my enthusiasm to get the labels finished I…..well, I goofed! But hey, it’s a label. Snippet photo

20160704-160205.jpg

4. Ma’s new lap quilt

I really didn’t think this would get made, but where there’s a will……..

Ma came down to stay with us for a wee while and we spent an afternoon together putting up the triangles on the design wall and had such fun doing it! The design wall is in Ma’s room, so she could contemplate the design from her bed on waking and before lights out, and we did make some changes as a result of her “viewings”.

It took just a short time to piece, then Carol kindly quilted it, and I finished it with binding and a special label

20160704-161003.jpgCan’t wait to give it to Ma this weekend – hence the request at the start of this post for Ma not to read any further. And if you have, Ma, you’ve just spoilt your surprise.

20160704-161138.jpgWhat makes this quilt so special is that we chose the fabrics together and sorted the design together. Loving it!

20160704-161236.jpg

So there we go; all four projects done and dusted. I am one happy quilter. How did your FAL go for the quarter?

Now……..what shall I finish for quarter 3…….???

Linking up with Jess for FAL Q2

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to FAL Quarter 2 – 2016

  1. Helen F says:

    All gorgeous quilts M but you really made me tear up reading Ma’s label!!! – she is very well loved by us all!!!

  2. Ann says:

    Hi Meredithe,
    I love your knitted socks. I am interested in knitting some myself after reading about your obsession with knitting socks, but just have a couple of questions first. Are they comfortable and warm to wear with runners or shoes as compared to commercial socks?. Do the socks ‘breathe’, so your feet don’t sweat? Is the wool that you use 100% wool or cotton? Thank you for writing such an interesting blog, I really enjoying reading them.

  3. June Hamilton says:

    Well done. That has to deserve chocolate and wine (or maybe a couple of hot toddies in view of the weather). 🍷🍰😃

  4. Annie Andrews says:

    Congrats , I just can’t stop starting new ones, itching to knit some socks

  5. Well done indeed. It’s a great success!

  6. Glenda says:

    Fabulous achievements! All gorgeous !

  7. Glenda says:

    Whoo !! Amazing!

  8. Please give Darling Ma lots of hugs and kisses from me – I know she will love her quilt, made by her wonderful daughter!!!!
    ps – hugs and kisses for you and the Golfer too!!!!!

  9. Kyle says:

    Not much rest for you. Your mom’s going to love her new quilt. What a beautiful gift. And the latest pair of sock is oh, so cute.

  10. Linda Dutch says:

    They are all lovely finishes Meredith! I really love the label on your mum’s one, a very special gift!

  11. thimbleanna says:

    Congratulations on your great finishes Meredithe! The socks are so pretty. And the quilt! I do hope your Mum was surprised!

  12. Carole Minihan says:

    Congrats Meredithe on your achievement. You are so amazing the finished quilts are lovely and sure your Ma will just cherish her quilt each time she uses it, all the work from other girls are so so clever, missing stitching from Belfast

  13. Oh fantastic job! Massive congrats (especially coming from someone who never, ever finishes everything on their list!!) Thanks for participating in the 2016 FAL on behalf of the global hosts 🙂

  14. Marian says:

    I’ve got some serious sock envy M.. loving your socks big time!!
    Beautiful quilts too and i love the label.. a quilt made with love for a special mum ❤❤

  15. Gosh what lovely quilts Meredithe! Lucky Ma too, Lucy xxx

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

