Winter Workshops

Sewn and Quilted have just had their inaugural Winter Workshops weekend and along with Carol, GJ and I were teachers at this event.

On Friday, Carol’s students were investigating an alternative method of making “Double Wedding Ring” and “Pumpkin Seed” quilts

20160704-144432.jpgIn GJ’s class, students had this fabulous kit to make a felt embroidery workbag

20160704-144804.jpgand my class room was set up ready for a template class

20160704-144848.jpg

20160704-144859.jpgand by class end, my students were each well on their way with their chosen block

20160704-144938.jpgWe were well plied with morning and afternoon tea (these were the only pics I managed to get – the hoards descended quickly!)

20160704-145153.jpg

20160704-145208.jpgand the cafe at the other end of the building had great choices for lunch.

Saturday I taught hand quilting

20160704-145448.jpg

20160704-145500.jpgtaking these pics before students arrived. We were so engrossed in our work that I didn’t get a chance to take any further pics of my class, or Carol’s appliqué stems or GJ’s Millefiori!

If you missed out, don’t fret; Summer School is on again in January 2017 (more details coming in September) and I’m sure Winter Workshops will be around next year too!

Thanks to all my students for their enthusiasm and eagerness to learn – it was a delight to teach you. Thanks too to Carol and her staff, and the folk at the venue for a fabulous time.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Winter Workshops

  1. Carole Minihan says:

    Wonderful work, particularly the felt craft bags. You girls do amazing work

  2. June Hamilton says:

    Looked like a great fun weekend.

  3. Jenny Port says:

    Thank you Meredithe for a great class on Friday. I learnt a lot and had a great time. Thanks also to Carol and Lynley from Sewn and Quilted for putting together such great workshops. Your patience and customer service in the shop is also to be applauded – thank you. The venue was terrific. Thanks again and I look forward to further workshops. Regards jenny

  4. treadlemusic says:

    I can really understand the “no photos thing”! Getting so engrossed in the activity/process wipes all such thoughts from my mind also!!!!!

  5. It seems to me that nothing strips a buffet faster than a horde of ravenous quilters!

  6. It all looks fabulous! Can you and GJ please come over and teach some classes here – I’ll lay on the food!!

  7. rachaeldaisy says:

    That all looks so wonderful!! I bet everyone had a great time!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

