Stitch Sisters

Last Saturday was a Stitch Sisters gathering at my home. I bought savoury treats for afternoon tea

20160621-151738.jpgand after seeing Anna’s post and Jenny’s post, I had a hankering for carrot cake. I had a recipe too and after reading all three decided on taking a bit from each.

That done, baking started but I belatedly realised there was no vegetable oil in the pantry – shock, horror! Still in my pj’s, there was no way I was heading out to the shops, but instead of panicking, I decided to do a Nigella or a Donna; I imagined myself in front of a camera and giving a coquettish or cheeky smile (depending on the personality) “normally, this recipe would contain vegetable oil, but you know me; why have something ordinary when you can have something really tasty” (cue sultry or sassy – again depending on the personality – under the eyelashes look) “so here we’ll add not 2 eggs but 4, and instead of the vegetable oil, let’s add Greek yoghurt” (said in whichever way accent dictates ie yog-hurt for the English and yo-gurt for the Aussie). And my idea for adding the extra eggs and yoghurt turned out to be an excellent one; cake got cheers all round with everyone taking some home too. Winner! I even remembered to write down what I’d used so I could give you the recipe (link here – just for you!)

20160621-153537.jpg
In the sewing stakes, Miss V was hand quilting

20160621-153648.jpgKaren was circling

20160621-153749.jpgSue was binding

20160621-153807.jpgas was I

20160621-153833.jpgand on the knitting front, our Helen is now sock-afflicted

20160621-153907.jpgand Rhonda was scarf-ing – a footy one for a family member. It’s actually red and black – for some reason the camera didn’t like the red.

20160621-154015.jpgAnd just to whet your appetite, another gratuitous pic of the flavoursome, fully packed, crunchy, moreish carrot cake!

20160621-154127.jpg
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stitch Sisters

  1. Sue Whitburn says:

    I can vouch for the cake- Devine!! 😋

  2. Ooh, that carrot cake looks delicious! I can taste it’s scrumptiousness from here in the centre of the UK……………. 12,000 miles away?

  3. Sorry – was there something else in the post other than the delicious cake??!!

  4. helen f says:

    Cake was veeery tasty! Another one u can add to ur repertoire m!!

  5. Good recovery – isn’t it wonderful when a tweak to a recipe works so well!

  6. Carrolyn v says:

    Sounds divine! Aren’t most fantastic new inventions corrected mistakes? I’ve heard applesauce is also a great substitute for oil and keep an extra jar in the pantry or that purpose. But looks like the new cake maybe the new norm!!!!!

  7. Michelle says:

    What is the pattern that Miss V is stitching? It looks divine!

  8. treadlemusic says:

    I use those same (hair) clips for binding. $$ is definitely right. The carrot cake looks yummy as does the stitcheries!!!! Enjoyed the post!!!!!

  9. Goodness, I’m very impressed by your calmness in the face of adversity, or not quite having the right ingredients! Sounds like you’ve made a happy discovery there, I’ll be trying your recipe out! Lovely makes as always! Jenny xxx

  10. Judy says:

    Thanks so much for the recipe, hope it works out at our high elevation. Amazing stitching as usual.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

