Friday sewing

It was my turn to host stitching this time, and I spent a rewarding time in the kitchen making deliciousness for my friends! When I have the time, I really do enjoy pottering in the kitchen, making a big mess and having my “bakes” turn out well – a real sense of achievement, particularly when trying new things!

20160528-172656.jpgZucchini and leak soup with home made bread, then Persian Love Cake for dessert and ANZAC biscuits for afternoon tea. (The Persian Love Cake recipe is in the link, the others I’ll have up soon).

It was a cold day, so it was delightful to put on the fire in the “good room” where we were stitching; the first fire in that room for Autumn/Winter 2016!

Maree was hand quilting

20160528-173016.jpgHelen was hand quilting

20160528-173036.jpgI was hand quilting

20160528-173053.jpgand Karen was hand qu…..oh, no she wasn’t! Karen was knitting.

20160528-173125.jpgWe were warm, cosy, well fed, and I for one, had a great day!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friday sewing

  1. Carrolyn V says:

    Oh wow! Some recipes! That is awesome! Such a fun day. I am truly making a vow to be more productive. But I can’t seem to stay away from blogs and fabric sites!

  2. Chookyblue says:

    Sounds perfect….

  3. Cécile says:

    I’m sure it was a perfect day ! With the meal and hand work, close to the fire !!

  4. Sounds good to me – and brought back memories of sitting at the table, having lunch with you and the Squealers!!

  5. treadlemusic says:

    I have to remind myself we’are entering opposite seasons! Ha! Your soup is a must try…..wonder if it would work as chilled….hmmmm. The bread looks awesome and will have to check out that cake. That tight hand-stitching ……. well……. blows my mind (figuratively, of course!! LOL!)!!!!!!

  6. Michelle says:

    Hand quilters, hooray! Too bad I live on the wrong continent…

  7. Well fed, cosy, with stitching and friends… What a lovely day!

  8. Helen F says:

    Persian LOVE CAKE was to die for!!!!!!!

  9. Kyle says:

    Your puttering created some yummy dishes. And the relaxing sewing was perfect afterwards.

  10. That all looks delicious! Can’t wait for the Anzac recipe, I love those! Now where was the prosecco, out of picture? Jenny xxx

  11. Melody A. says:

    such a wonderful time to spend with girlfriends doing something you all love in pleasant surroundings with delicious food, what more could one ask for???

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

