Sock obsession

I was talking to my friend Kim the other week. This is the woman who started my interest in sock knitting. A couple of years ago I watched as she finished off a pair of socks (using the Kitchener technique – woohoo; that’s sock talk!) and was fascinated. Kim then told me that she knits at least one pair of socks each Winter, often many more.

When we were talking recently she showed me a photo (which Kim has kindly allowed me to show you) of her sock drawer. Yes, that’s right, A Sock Drawer. Wanna see?

20160517-094743.jpgLook at all those fabulous, hand knitted socks. Don’t they make your feet feel warm just looking at them?

This wondrous drawer holds (I think) 35 pair of 4ply socks and 8 pair of 8ply socks. Plus Kim has knitted socks for her three (now grown up) children which they enjoy wearing too.

Kim now knits her socks without a pattern – that’s how clever she is – she know the pattern so well it’s embedded in her psyche. When I grow up, I want to be able to do that too!

So this is my new obsession ambition. I Want A Sock Drawer Too!

To this end, I finished my second pair on the weekend

20160517-095028.jpgand I’ve started another pair

20160517-095056.jpgand there are two more balls awaiting their transformation! It’s endlessly fascinating seeing the yarn flow into a pattern, particularly with the self striping yarn, and watching a sock grow, ever so quickly (far more rewarding than jumper knitting), the clever way a heel turns (I did that!) and the completion of the toe. I’m enjoying the process soooooo much! Ridiculously so!

With special thanks to Kim for the inspiration and Christine for a fabulous pattern (which I’m starting to know by heart!). This Winter I shall have warm feet encased in hand knitted socks and a warm heart from loving the knitting of them.

Much love from your knitting knut
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sock obsession

  1. Annie Gunn says:

    Wow, so many new projects to think about and so little time! Hope they come up with a magic pill soon to allow us to live in good health til we have completed our wish list! Those socks of yours are colourful – can you how the evolving outcome of the yarn has you hooked.

    Loved the sweet pea post earlier too. Those self sown vegies certainly DO excel and are quite often better than the ones in the little punnets that you buy. Hope the tomatoes beat the frost and the sweet peas flourish. Cheers, annie

  2. Kim Bastiani says:

    You’ve just brought a smile to my face ☺️☺️☺️ So glad you’re enjoying knitting them as much as I do 😉

  3. Melody A. says:

    Those are beautiful socks!!! Who wouldn’t want to wear them ! and I bet they feel as wonderful as they look. Lovely to have another creative outlet.

  4. Sandi says:

    I love your socks and your yarn is wonderful! Hugs,

  5. I dream of a sock drawer like that! Your socks are so cheerful. We went away last week and I discovered had forgotten Christine’s pattern but I had a go and it appears to be imprinted on my brain already as my socks turned out fine. Hooray!

  6. Fabulous socks!! It is addictive, but at least you have something to show for it! Even after all the pairs that I have knitted, I still have to sit and chant as I do the Kitchener stitch, to get the stitches done in the right order and the right way round!

  7. Susan says:

    Wow, that sock drawer really is something special. I’m feeling very inspired by you. I have the wool and the needles, just waiting for the right moment.

  8. Kyle says:

    Oh, my gosh, you’re just clicking those needles. Your socks are fantastic and to have a whole drawer like that would be heavenly.

  9. Cécile says:

    Ambition ? Noooo. .obsession, addiction yes ! 😂😃😄😆😁
    That’s a new talent for you ! Socks !

  10. Oh goodness, another skill on the bucket list! You temptress!

  11. Maree says:

    Absolutely gorgeous !!!

  12. MrsCraft says:

    I love the sock colours! 😊

  13. Cocopatch says:

    You make me smile!! socks addicted!!

  14. Lucy says:

    I am really enjoying watching ‘sock obsession’ but I have not attempted a pair yet myself. I love your bright rainbow pair! It must be really satisfying to wear socks you have knitted yourself!
    Lucy xx

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

