Instastitch blocks

I may be a little late to the party but I’ve made the first block in Sue Spargo’s Instastitch Log Cabin

I really like this concept and thinking about it reminded me of High School Art Class and playing with mixed media. So as a nod to that, I’ve used woolly bits, cotton prints, solids and denim fabrics. The first part was choosing the right mix – something I love doing!

20160420-165234.jpgthen stitching it up

20160420-165921.jpgand finally finishing it with embroidery. I took Sue’s suggestions and interpreted them at will.

20160420-164847.jpgYesterday I started on number 2, again playing with the fabrics first

20160423-103407.jpgthen sewing them together and starting the embroidery.

20160423-103613.jpg
Lots of fun! Are you participating? There are lots of different version to see on Instagram, all cottons, all woolly bits, mixed media like mine, but all looking fabulous.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Instastitch blocks

  1. Susan says:

    I’m keen to start this project Meredithe! In the meantime I will watch yours with interest!

  2. June Hamilton says:

    Looking good Meredithe. So random, yet going together so well.

  3. Some gorgeous fabrics and I love them stitched together in that pattern!

  4. helen f says:

    Will be interesting to see finished!!

  5. You are having fun. Must go and have a look..

  6. Kyle says:

    I just finished Sue’s class on Craftsy and this might be the perfect project to try. Thanks for the heads up. I’ll see what I can come up with.

  7. Mmmmmm – this looks good – could be a post-holiday project!!

  8. Cécile says:

    Your blocks are so fresh ! Have fun M !

  9. Linda Dutch says:

    These blocks look very interesting, and such fun adding in the “extras”. I must check out the link

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

