Saturday sewing

Louise has found the perfect set of mixed tiles for her kitchen splash back – so many quilting ideas!

20160405-094536.jpgSue has been finishing a few things, like these bibs for her new grandson

20160405-094829.jpgand her Mum’s lap quilt

20160405-094901.jpgfor which Sue has found the perfect backing

20160405-094950.jpgMiss E has been finishing too; this quilt top

20160405-095049.jpgand this quilt for a charity auction

20160405-095136.jpgHelen has finished appliquéing and sashing her “Pseudo Baltimore” blocks

20160405-095306.jpgShe’s now trying to decide whether to continue with her candlewick blocks

20160405-095436.jpgalternating them with stars

20160405-095508.jpgor just alternate the colours in the stars

20160405-095554.jpgKaren has finished quilting this quilt

20160405-095623.jpgusing Big Stitch and perle 8 thread. I love this quilt and think I need to make inroads on my scrap bucket and make one too!

20160405-095724.jpgKaren also had these gorgeous fabrics for show and tell

20160405-095753.jpgPoor Louise only had this much to crochet, but only this much yarn left!

20160405-095846.jpgSue’s enjoying her hand quilting

20160405-095918.jpgMaree is making stars

20160405-095945.jpgand Karen’s still loving her embroidered circles.

20160405-100028.jpgOh, and of course we had afternoon tea!

20160405-100113.jpg
Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saturday sewing

  1. Judy says:

    I could easily cuddle up in Karen’s sweet quilt. It’s the quilt that once you see it you want to go right home and make one. Love it!

  2. Pip says:

    Afternoon tea certainly looks scrummy, (yours always does) and I’m sure those tiles will be inspiration for several quilts.
    ps I just noticed on your sidebar about The Dressmaker, the novel that the film is based on was written by Rosalie Ham, there are at least 7 more novels titled The Dressmaker.

  3. Another great post! You have such a talented group, so many different things going on. I love Helen’s pretty pink stars – I would stick with them, they look so lovely.

  4. Kelly Callaghan says:

    Hi Meredithe, Do you access Instragram? I used to look at Twitter every night after work, but now I look at Instragram – no reading required and lots of lovely pictures! Instragram is an app for the smart phone and a slight variation for the iPad (I like the iPad as the pictures are bigger). Anyway after that rambling introduction the tiles put me in mind of a lovely instragram account called Ihavethisthingwithfloors – Its as much about the shoes of the photographer as the marvelous floors similar to the lovey tiles.
    Thanks again for an inspiring post – your friends are inspiring. Kelly

  5. rachaeldaisy says:

    Fun fabric times!! I’m a huge fan of patterned tiles, they’re like quilts on floors and walls.

  6. the creative heifer says:

    Wow so many amazing and inspiring projects happening – they always give me so many ‘I would love to do that’ ideas. I love reading your posts. The kitchen tiles are amazing and certainly do look like something to quilt!

  7. There is so much in this post, I don’t know what to comment on!! But the stand-out is Sue’s Mum’s lap quilt. The fabrics are beautiful!! Miss Helen’s stars are lovely – I would add the candlewick ones. The tiles are super,definitely good quilty ideas there! I can sympathise with running out of yarn – it happened to me on a recent knitted baby blanket – fortunately I always leave a long tail when I cast on, and had just enough to join into knit the last few stitches!
    As for the food …….

  8. thimbleanna says:

    Looks like another FUN day of stitching. I LOVE that scrappy quilt — I’d love to make one too. Although, you know, it wouldn’t make a dent in our stashes LOL!

  9. I can see that splashback being parent to a whole host of quilts – they might even make a dent in someone’s stash….

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

