Decisions, decisions…….

(the pics in today’s post are purely for visual value; snippets of some of my birthday pressies!)

Of late I’ve spent quite a bit of time in ponderous ponderings. “Why?” I hear you ask. Well, several weeks ago I received an email from a lovely lady at Craftsy asking if I would be interested in becoming an affiliate member of that organisation.

20160301-120604.jpg

– I should pause here and ask, do you know of/have you heard of Craftsy? If not, they are a US based online community selling product (fabric, patterns, notions) and classes in all sorts of crafts, including quilting. The great thing about the classes is that once you’ve bought your class you can go back to it time and time again, replay sections as needed, and ask the instructor questions. That done, back to my story…… –

20160301-120750.jpg

After I’d finished preening my feathers (what? my little blog??), I realised I needed to do some serious thinking and ask myself some questions. I love writing on my blog; it gives me great pleasure sharing my exploits with you, and I’m delighted that you, Dear Peeps, enjoy reading about them (thank you!). So I was a little concerned about becoming “commercial” until a friend pointed out that already, on many posts, I link to shops, businesses, events and products, which you can choose to visit or not.

20160301-120823.jpg

Emails have been whizzing through the ether between Craftsy and yours truly, and I’ve decided to take the plunge and become an affiliate member. What does this mean for my blog? Well, you will notice a Craftsy link button on my side bar, and periodically I’ll post about specials or review a class.   Joining Craftsy is free.  Should you follow through on the link and purchase the product/class, I will receive a small commission. There is no obligation for you to buy; it will be a link like any other link that you see on my posts. If you follow through and buy, that’s great, if the information is of no interest, that’s fine too.

20160301-120901.jpg

This is not a decision I’ve taken lightly, but let’s give it a go and see how it pans out!

20160301-120944.jpg

Meredithe x

(If you’d like to explore Craftsy, just click on the button on the side bar.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Decisions, decisions…….

  1. Marilyn Wilks says:

    I’m already a member of Craftsy. Love it. One of my good friends has learned to machine quilt via one of their classes.

    So pleased for you. Go for it Meredithe. You are an inspiration!

    Marilyn

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. andrea says:

    Congratulations on the new venture. You will show our US crafty fiends how it’s done xx

  3. Ann Ireland says:

    Congratulations and well done Meredithe, I love craftsy and have enrolled in a few classes and bought projects. I look forward to your tutorials. Congrats again. X

  4. Vreni says:

    Great decision! You really have nothing to lose and Craftsy is a wonderful tool for all kinds of crafts. I have loads of classes in my library; I usually buy them when they are on sale and watch them whenever I have time or feel like it. Of course from now on I will buy them via your web site! xx

  5. Vreni says:

    Oh and I forgot to say; Happy belated Birthday. It looks like you’ve been spoiled ;)! xx

  6. Carrolyn v says:

    That is wonderful news! I can’t think of anyone more qualified! I have been a member for a long time and have so enjoyed my classes…….again so wonderful, like your blog, on winter days with a good cup of coffee. Congrats!!! Inspiration continues!

  7. Karen Goad says:

    I am a Craftsy affiliate also and I haven’t noticed anyone being offended by my few advertisements – I don’t push it but just post when the sales are and mention now and then when I am satisfied about something I got from them or about a class I have found helpful. Good luck in the venture!

  8. Cécile says:

    I’m really happy for you M ,!
    I have ordered several times and Craftsy is very fun…..
    Fingers crossed and it’s a very good decision !

  9. What lovely birthday gifts. And I think it’s a fab idea that you are on Craftsy, I desperately want to learn some sewing skills and I can’t think of a more inspiring teacher 🙂

  10. What fabulous news!! I love all the Craftsy classes I have bought (especially the Sue Spargo!!) ….. so of course I shall now buy them through your link!!

  11. rachaeldaisy says:

    It’s a tricky decision isn’t it but Craftsy are great. The couple of classes I’ve done have been excellent.

  12. Hilda says:

    Well done Meredithe – a great compliment to you and your lovely blog! I’ve never done/bought a Craftsy class but now …might consider it 🙂

  13. Carole Minihan says:

    Congratulations Meredithe, I am already a member although not bought anything as yet, you must be chuffed. Lovely birthday gifts

  14. Congrats! Sounds like a lot of fun and you are a great maker! 🙂

  15. Robin Harper says:

    love your blog, Craftsy is great. Happy Birthday, the Dresmaker is a good read xx

  16. Richelle says:

    Great about the Crafty news. Happy belated birthday Meredithe. I adore those hexie earrings and I was wondering where they were purchased. I presume they were probably a gift and you don’t know.

  17. Cocopatch says:

    I love craftsy class! they have a lot of free patterns too! Congrats Meredith!

  18. Pat says:

    Good for you! I have been a Craftsy member almost from its inception (started here in Denver, CO)….it is a quality operation for sure and has grown dramatically. I won’t say how many classes/supplies I’ve purchased, but I am a pretty loyal customer! I think this will be a positive experience for you and hope that maybe some day you will teach a class!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

