Saturday in the city

On Saturday I met up with some friends in the city for a “Saturday Experience” (all of our own making!). I shall apologies in advance for the poor photography; I didn’t want to lug my camera into town, so the pics were taken on my phone.

We chatted while we patiently queued for a table at Hopetoun Tearooms for our lunch (so very worth the wait!), drooling over the window

20160220-184552.jpg
and once inside, loving the interior

20160220-184652.jpg
and the food…..the food! I shall let the pictures tell the story!

20160220-185300.jpgOnce we’d had our fill (and possibly a bit more) we waddled over the road and down Swanston Street to l’uccello where it’s always a joyful experience to shop, and then around the corridor to Kimono House, the actual purpose of our ‘venture, to see the small but fascinating Boro exhibition. These are mended and patched textiles and clothing from nineteenth and early twentieth century Japan.

20160220-190218.jpg(read more about boro by clicking on the link above). I felt sad that these people were so poor that they were constantly trying to renew what were basically rags with other old scraps of fabrics, but they are quietly beautiful. When I told Ma Kettle of our visit and my reaction, she reminded me that western society was often no different and she can remember her Mum (my Nanna who taught me to sew) patching clothing with exquisite stitching as they couldn’t afford to replace the item in question. I’m feeling much more appreciative of and valuing our current standard of living in western society.

Speaking of which…… I just might have purchased these from Kimono House

20160220-190258.jpgand possibly these

20160220-190324.jpgand these

20160220-190350.jpgfrom l’uccello.

A lovely experience and an utterly delightful day!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saturday in the city

  1. Carole Minihan says:

    Hopetoun Restaurant was my treat once a month when working in the city, always a special experience, love the fabrics and of course the beautiful Japanese pieces

  2. Carrolyn v says:

    Oh my..I gained ten pounds just looking at that luscious food!!! And the fabrics…..even some Liberty Lawn! Heaven on earth!!! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Wow looks like a great little place for afternoon tea with friends! Great pictures despite the mobile shots, they still look great. Love that fox print!

  4. It took me a long time to scroll on down from the food photos – Malcolm and I can’t agree if we had a cuppa there, or simply drooled all over the windows!! Gorgeous fabric purchases …….. and yes, sometimes we have to stop and appreciate our comfortable lives.

  5. rachaeldaisy says:

    I love those tearooms!! I went years ago and I’m so glad to see they haven’t changed the wallpaper. The boro exhibition would have been wonderful to see. Fabulous new fabrics!

  6. Goodness. All those pictures suddenly reminded me that the French for “window-shopping” translates as “window licking”. I wonder whether they had drooling over tempting food in mind!

  7. Cécile says:

    A delightful day I agree with you !! 🙂

  8. Judy says:

    Could be this is your best post yet! So early in the morning for me to see those beautiful bakery cases. I would have chosen the raspberry tart…no wait… the little item with figs on top…oh hold on…the sandwiches look so delicious. I have seen photos of the Boro exhibit and I agree it’s beauty is very humbling. So glad you had such a wonderful day.

  9. It was a fabulous day, can’t wait for the next one….xxx

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

