The Fashion Shoot (!)

Some of you have asked to see the three shirts/tops I made at Sewjourn, on the model. So very tongue-in-cheek, here’s our (that’s GJ and I) version of a fashion shoot!

I dragged GJ away from her sewing to help with my make up

20160215-174421.jpgthen we went out into the garden and onto the verandah for the photographs. As you’ll see, we had a ball, I made a goof of myself and sometimes couldn’t stop laughing! I won’t bore you with lots of pics, instead I’ve made up collages of the three outfits, and a final one of my “assistants”(!)

Please note: I rarely include photos of myself on the blog (just a little self conscious) and almost never of other people, but these pics appear with the consent of those snapped.

Are you ready? Here goes……..(I’m ready for my close up Mr De Mille!)

First up is the Schoolhouse Tunic and I forgot to take a note of the fabric name.

20160215-174756.jpg
Second is also a Schoolhouse Tunic, but a longer version and the fabric is “Glitz Garden” by Michael Miller

20160215-175056.jpgand third is the Esme Top sewn in Liberty (a remnant bought at discount!)

20160215-175247.jpg
This final collage shows, at the top the ever patient, seamstress extraordinaire, Marvellous Maree, then the “photographer to the stars(!)” our very own GJ, lining up for impossible angles and “without whom this post would not be possible”. Are you crying yet?

20160215-175830.jpg

Please note, wherever possible French seams were undertaken!

20160215-180030.jpg

So there it is. I’m delighted with my new clothes and with new techniques learnt and old skills revived. Who knows? There may be more makes in the future!

Meredithe x

Credits:
Make-up……..Glenda from Slapstick
Hair…………….P and C from Beehive Do’s
Garments…….Meredithe Clark from patterns as linked
Couturier……..Marvellous Maree
Model………….MC from Waxworks
Photography..GJ from Cust Couturier Clicks
Venue…………Sewjourn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The Fashion Shoot (!)

  1. Kelly Callaghan says:

    Lovely garments Meredithe and the photos are great. Such fun!
    Well done all concerned, Kelly

  2. Karen Goad says:

    looks like you had fun – always nice to goof off and get nice photos

  3. Charmaine says:

    Looking great ladies! Love the fabrics you chose and very impressed with your French seams. Xx

  4. Kyle says:

    So fun and so cute, both the tops and the model.

  5. Miss E says:

    Gorgeous fabrics and lovely creations for a lovely lady! Looking good, M. Well done!

  6. Judy says:

    Meredith, you are just too darn cute for words! Love the garments, is that some of the same tunic fabric that I see on the cuff of your jeans? My grandmother taught me to make french seams when I was very young, makes for a very nice garment.

  7. Annie Andrews says:

    What fun, you look great

  8. Marian says:

    Can’t have tell you had a ball doing the photo shoot! You look great in all your lovely new tops, but my fave is the longer -schoolhouse tunic- version in the yummy MM print 🙂

  9. Carole Minihan says:

    These tops are so you, clever girl

  10. Jenny M says:

    Great photos ~ lovely outfits…so clever to be able to make your own clothes.

  11. It is 2.30 am UK time, I cannot sleep and this post has really cheered me up with a giggle. You are a beautiful woman and great photo’s. Loving the outfits too.

  12. Glendacust says:

    What will we wear on the red carpet ?? A long version of the school house ???
    Here comes the oscars !!!!
    Fun times had by all !!
    Xxx

  13. lyn lindsay says:

    Oh brave Meredithe you look lovely and I appreciate your effort to show the tops, I love the tunic style do so much with them, the schoolhouse looks terrific, I love, love, love the Japanese patterns which are so similar, there will be an up serge of tunics, they are comfy and cool and yet can be warm as well look great with jeans, and with footless tights… thanks Meredithe a lovely post.
    Lyn

  14. You look fabulous Sis!!! Well done to all involved in the photo shoot ……. front cover of Vogue next?! I learned how to do a French seam when I was about seven, when we made the most hideous ladies’ knickers at school – my Mum took one look at them and decided they would make a good duster!!

  15. Andrea says:

    Lovely pics, beautiful fabrics, looking great in your new tops! Thanks for sharing x

  16. What a wonderful show! Fabulous!

  17. helen says:

    I love this post! :)) This fashion shoot is very professional, you must have had a great time!
    And congratulations for the tunics!
    Best wishes!

  18. Cécile says:

    I’m crying, I’m laughing, I’m loving it !!!!! You’re wonderful !

  19. Sandra Lee says:

    What a fantastic job you guys have done. The fabrics and finished products look amazing. 😃👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
    Sandra Lee

  20. Callista Garman says:

    Thank you for a fun look at your lovely tunics and to all the crew involved..what a lot of fun and great wearable gear. There will be no stopping you now Meridith…….

  21. Chookyblue says:

    the tops look great but looks like you girls had stacks of laughs taking the photo shoot…….looks like you have an new career…………MODEL………….
    funny how you get an picture in your head and you don’t really know what it is but when you see a pic it’s like of thats a little different…………….not bad might I add………..

  22. rachaeldaisy says:

    What a fun post!! You look wonderful with your beautiful smile and fabulous tops.

  23. Anne says:

    Meredith, thank you for sharing your lovely photo shoot. What fun you girls had – must have felt like being teenagers all over again! Nice that we can still have ‘silly’ fun amongst good friends. Love the blouses. Your sewjourn was very productive for all concerned. Hope those circles are going well. Cheers, Annie Gunn

  24. Hilda says:

    What fun – and what a great model! French seams! that takes me back to school girl sewing lessons…haha – such a lovely finish though. They’re wonderful and you stitched them up so fast!

  25. Maree says:

    Those photos are fun , and the tops look great . Lovely weekend xx

  26. Fiona says:

    You are a super model. Looking lovely as always.

  27. Looks like a lot of fun with some great items!

  28. Vreni says:

    What fun you girls had. Your new tops look great as do you (and it’s nice to have a face to the name now).

  29. normsandie says:

    Meredithe, you’re a natural. You look fab as does your new fashion clothing.

  30. Lucy says:

    Hello Meredithe, you look fabulous! My fave is the longer version of the schoolhouse tunic. Well done for braving it and putting yourself out there!
    Lucy xxx

  31. mamalovequilts says:

    Love this post! And your tops! Isn’t it great to be able to make your own garments? I get such a sense of accomplishment when I make my own.

  32. Cardygirl says:

    Love your tops- very inspiring! Are you available for cat walk functions 😅?

  33. Pat says:

    This post made my day! Tops are lovely (as is the model) but the commentary and the credits were the best! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

