Our visitor

Last Saturday morning The Golfer dragged me out of bed, bade me put on my slippers (which he’d laid at my feet), took me by the hand and lead me out the front door, along the verandah, through the gate and into our back yard. Stumbling along, I asked what on earth we were doing and why hadn’t we gone out the back door. “Hush”, whispered The Golfer. “Look!” He slowly pointed a finger at the middle of the Claret Ash where there sat a Tawny Frogmouth. Isn’t he wonderful?

20160201-202136.jpg(Thanks to The Golfer for the great photo.)

All weekend he sat there quietly; we assume he hunted for food at night. I took washing out to the clothes line to hang up and he watched, following my return journey, head swivelling like an owl’s. At one stage I stopped to chat, but he just looked at me unblinkingly, not obliging me with any answers to my questions. At other times he drew himself up, looking more and more like a branch, his plumage already wonderfully blending into the tree. Sunday was very windy; still he sat, his feathers ruffling in the wind. On Monday morning he was gone. We feel a little bereft, silly I know, but we liked having such an exotic creature in our Claret Ash. And we do wonder where he’s gone.

Have you ever had any unusual visitors?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Our visitor

  1. Helen F says:

    Hey M – when we were living in Wheelers Hill I was hanging out clothes and felt someone looking at me looked all around and then spied a tawny frogmouth in the tree above me!! He hung around for a few days then left. But they are soooo cute!! What a lovely surprise to have in your back yard!!

  2. Quilter 501 says:

    I sent you the pix of our moose last week……..then of course, my brother comes over to visit once in awhile! 🙂

  3. Hilda says:

    What a treat – one of my favourite birds but I’ve never seen one near home! mind you they are masters of disguise so you did very well to spot him!

  4. What a cool looking bird! That’s awesome that it hung around all weekend! I live in the city so we don’t get interesting visitors.

  5. Marian says:

    That’s very special indeed, i do hope he surprises you with a return visit someday. We have a resident owl whom i often hear through the wee hours, when he wakes me with his distinct hoot – i’ve yet to lay eyes on him. They are such wondrous creatures – wouldn’t it be great to be able to swivel your head around like that!!

  6. Judy says:

    My best brag would be a bear in our driveway. Front paw prints up on the hood of my daughter’s new car, checking to see if any snacks were left on the front seat? Love the photo of your visitor, will have to google that as we have never heard of those. Congrats to the photograper!

  7. Carole Minihan says:

    Oh you lucky girl, and lovely the golfer got you up to view such a beautiful creature, hopefully he will come back with a partner.

  8. Yours looks much more handsome than the one in your link! How wonderful that it stayed for a visit and didn’t fly off when you were in the garden. What would we do without our husbands, alerting us to photo opportunities for our blogs! Stuart was once chatting with some colleagues about what they put on their bird tables, when one of them said “well we put out ox hearts, which the buzzards love” …… there is no competing with that!
    I think the best bird we have had was a sparrow hawk – which was sitting on the grass eating a sparrow!

  9. Ann Ireland says:

    How gorgeous Meredithe, we once had a family of three sitting on our fence. They too stayed for a few days and then disappeared.

  10. Cécile says:

    Sometimes, we have beautiful birds in our garden and I try to take some pics of them !
    Your dear friend is absolutely gorgeous !

  11. We did find a hedgehog interrogating the milkbottles, once…!

  12. Kyle says:

    That is the coolest bird. Glad you got to have him around even for a little bit. None of those on Colorado!

  13. Tracy Rogers says:

    Oh my – I am SO SO jealous Meredithe! I adore them – and owls too! You lucky devil 🙂

  14. Barb Vedder says:

    amazing! wow he is creepy and cool!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

