Road trip

On Saturday morning GJ swung past our house, leapt out of her car, kidnapped me from under the nose of The Golfer and whisked me off on a Road Trip. Oh, alright. How about…….? GJ grabbed my right arm and twisted it up my back while asking politely if I’d like to go with her on a Road Trip. Ok, ok, truth this time. GJ needed a few supplies and asked if I’d like to go too. How could I say no?

Our first stop was to a shop that only opened last year, and to which I hadn’t yet ventured; The Quilt Shop, in Eltham.

And it’s gorgeous; light filled, open, lovely fabrics, welcoming. The first thing we spotted was this cute pin cushion

20160201-190942.jpgand, of course, we both bought a pattern! After introducing ourselves to one of owners, the very lovely Alison, we then drank in the sights and had an explore;

20160201-191159.jpgthere’s a lovely lounge area

20160201-191302.jpgdrawers of threads

20160201-191331.jpggorgeous giftware

20160201-191408.jpga super cool hexagon counter

20160201-191529.jpgscrumptious fabrics

20160201-191612.jpgand lovely quilts with the fabrics and pattern nearby.

20160201-191710.jpgA return visit or two is definitely on the cards.

Next stop was Cutting Cloth in Fairfield, always a delight. Lots of fabulous fabrics

20160201-192624.jpgan area to entertain lit’lies while Mum shops

20160201-192745.jpggorgeous Nani Iro’s

20160201-192916.jpgand delightful vignettes and tiny fabric temptations.

20160201-193240.jpg
“What did I buy?” you ask. What on earth makes you think I would have bought anything??!! Ah, you know me too well. You’ll have to wait and see!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Road trip

  1. Oh my, I am drooling over all those delicious fabrics, but I must be strong, I must be strong, and not succumb …….
    Looking forward to seeing your purchases!!

  2. I am too! And that pincushion, I made one once from paper pieced diamonds but that shape looks better to me. Can’t wait to see what you bought! Jenny x

  3. Oh wow, I could really do with an exciting fabric road trip! Love those quilts, and all those beautiful modern and colorful prints! That dresden is to die for.

  4. What a wonderful destination for your road trip!

  5. Theresa says:

    That was certainly a long road trip! I’m only 2 miles from Fairfield, you should have stopped by. What was that? You didn’t mean Fairfield, California? Well maybe next time. 🙂
    Perhaps you could even snag that wonderful mint green, octagonal tray for me.
    Thanks again for sharing another road trip, your pictures are always so lovely!

  6. Karen Goad says:

    always love a gift selection, a lounge area, a thread area, fabric 🙂 love the whole shop normally when I get a chance to see on.

  7. You’ve just cheered me up no end looking at all those lovely photos. It feels like ages since I last added to my stash. I’ve got the bug now. Thanks for sharing all that loveliness.

  8. Judy says:

    I really enjoyed this road trip with you, but I do find it hard to believe that it took you a whole year to get to that new shop! Love the little soup bowl and bread plate, how clever. Both shops look wonderful and can’t wait to see your purchases. Thank you once again for the beautiful photos.

  9. What lovely shops! Love the beautiful lounge area. I’d love to be kidnapped for such a trip :0)

  10. Carole Minihan says:

    Gorgeous shops, discipline would be impossible, thanks for sharing your abduction

  11. Kyle says:

    Just smiling, picturing GJ “twisting” your arm to head out on the road. Looks like you had some beautiful sight seeing along the way.

  12. Sue Whitburn says:

    Am inspired to take road trip tomorrow!!! But which direction?!!- have wanted to visit the one in Fairfield for a while now, but oh- the Eltham one looks enormously tempting !!! Decisions, decisions!!!

  13. Quilter501 says:

    What an awesome road trip and shop! The fabrics look divine……certainly different choices than in our local area…….and better roads I am sure this time of year. Went to a friend’s today who had the DVD of the last episodes of Downton Abbey and spent my stormy day on a road trip to her house thru snow, ice, wind……but worth it to stitch with a friend! Tomorrow is Groundhog’s Day here so we get to see how much longer this rough winter will be before we can start our road trips. As ;usual, thanks for sharing your adventures.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

