Week 1 of Quilty365

Ok, enough shilly-shallying. Let’s get on with this blog!

Here’s my first set of circles for week 1 of Quilty365

20160109-155347.jpgI’m pretty happy with those.

Would you believe this is the third set of circles I’ve bought over the years

20160109-155444.jpgThe one I need always seems to have disappeared into the void of some other project and, of course Murphy’s Law, I find it within days of having bought the next packet. Not so this time, though. That elusive 3.5″ circles still hasn’t shown up. Yes, there are other ways of cutting circles, but I do like the “pie” lines which show the centre of the circle and make fussy cutting easy, as does the see through Perspex. I’m cutting them bigger than required, because I like to have a bit more seam allowance for the circles.

I’ve been up at Ma Kettle’s for the last couple of days and spent some time cutting out from feed sacks.

20160109-155925.jpgSo now there’s a pile of circles and the question is, which one with which square? Ooh, now they’re fun decisions!

20160109-160105.jpg

How are your circles coming along?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Week 1 of Quilty365

  1. Judy says:

    Hi Meredith, love your feed sacks, sweet collection. I now have 24 little circle blocks done. These are just way too much fun. Ready to prep another dozen…is this considered cheating?

  2. Annie Andrewd says:

    I’m up to date but not nearly as organised as you are, cut some templastic but it doesn’t like the iron, will look for magic circles

  3. Carole Minihan says:

    Hey Meredithe I have lost my quilting mojo, have flowers, stems to make cannot get into it, I need a quilt boost

  4. Cécile says:

    I just can say one thing : I luuuuuv them !!

  5. treadlemusic says:

    I guess I’ve been “out of the loop” too long and just getting ‘with it’!! Love the circles! I just got my Juki machine for our winter place yesterday but really need some handwork(!) to do!!! I was definitely too lax on bringing fabric with me and it’s another 1 and a half weeks til a little shop-hop trip…..sigh…… I do have some bleached/unbleached muslin and batting so may put together a little machine “blankie”!!!!!
    Your feed sacks are gorgeous!!!! I think I have the top left and the one on the right with purple flowers. Love them all!!! So cozy and soft.

  6. carol says:

    love your idea – I am all in – using soft grey prints for squares and funky fabrics for circles – thanks for the inspiration

  7. Callista Garman says:

    I’ve decided to do this and see how it goes. I’m about to decide on the backgrounds and then it’s play time..but now I have some catching up to do

  8. Hilda says:

    No shilly shallying at all! looking lovely Meredithe. Those circle templates look very handy. Are you gathering the fabric circles around card/papers and pressing before applique? They look so perfectly round 🙂

  9. Well, I’ve just been doing a circle in spiral trellis stitch, so in answer to your question – pretty well!

  10. Such pretty fabrics. Oh how I wish I could quilt. I need to work through my yarn stash though before I start buying fabric!

  11. Helen F says:

    You are on fire M !!

  12. Linda Dutch says:

    Your circles are looking gorgeous! Great soft colours and I’m just loving those sweet feedsack fabrics!

  13. Looking good, Little Sis!!

  14. Béatrice says:

    I too started my Quilty 365 this week, a lot of circles for me this year…Yours are very beautiful !

  15. Lyn Shortland says:

    Hi Meredithe, started lated as the shop was shut till 6/1/16. But as quilters never give up and some Christmas fabric kept ‘calling me’ you know how it is. I now have 7 blocks done one mow being stitched and 11 will soon be completed. I have cut 110 3 1/2″sqa and just over 2″ diameter circles when sewn. The backgrounds come from another previous unfinished project. Better days ahead for us all. !!Lyn

  16. thimbleanna says:

    Beautiful circles Meredithe — I’m looking forward to seeing your progress on this quilt!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

