Not so power-full

Like everyone, it’s been busy. Monday The Golfer and I ferried MyDearFIL to several appointments (he’s doing very well, thank you, it just often needs two of us to cope with him and car parks etc). Then Tuesday, yesterday, we had a “Scheduled Maintenance Power Outage”…………….All Day! Yep, 8.15am to 4.00pm. I know! Seriously? Three days before Christmas? On the very day I’d planned to do the food shopping?

It’s amazing how much one can’t do when the power is cut off. So much one just takes for granted. We turned the fridge up high for two hours before cut off time, I boiled the kettle and filled a thermos for hot drinks, I made lunches and put them and cold drinks in an esky with ice blocks, but of course there was no tv, no radio, no sewing machine, no computer, forgot to charge my phone! But the garden beckoned, and I read outside on the back deck under the shade of the tree (and admired my beautiful pots), and chatted to Ma Kettle, so it was quite restful and calm. Then, of course, when I was ready to do a post the Internet was down – Murphy’s Law at play!

This morning The Golfer and I were up very early and (finally) did all the food shopping then moved the last of the mulch and our garden, both front and back looks so good; I’m a very happy duck!

On the sewing front, I did a bit of machine stitching on the weekend

20151223-143202.jpgUnfortunately I needed to use the unpicker too!

20151223-143506.jpgI haven’t goofed like that in years – not a completed block! (I blame the heat!!)

For this afternoon, I’m taking it easy and resting my aching back! Enjoy your day.

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Not so power-full

  1. Susan says:

    Sounds like you need to ask for a small digital radio from Santa! I only have to charge mine every four or five days! Enjoy the break Meredithe! Merry Christmas!

  2. Helen F says:

    Looking forward to seeing the garden all pretty!!! Take it easy M you deserve to relax ALL arvo!! Can’t wait to see what you are making with the blocks!!

  3. Judy says:

    Just now realized, after reading your post today, that in addition to all of the Christmas preparations, this being your Spring, you also have gardening chores. I cannot imagine having to do all of that along with Christmas! You gals across the big pond never cease to amaze me.

  4. lona long says:

    Sounds like you found ways to enjoy your day! Having no power, really does make us just stop. Fun blocks- love the coin purse fabric. It is cold here in central USA, so I delight in seeing your garden pots! 🙂 Merry Christmas- we are on the countdown! Only a couple more days!

  5. Love the block colours 🙂 wishing you all a wonderful Christmas filled with everything that you enjoy. Cheers Lynne

  6. Lyn says:

    Just proves you’re human!
    Have had so much pleasure from Pom and Chintz in 2015. God bless

  7. I just know that you have finished all your other projects before you started on those new blocks ….. just as I have finished all of mine!!

  8. This is where hand embroidery wins out – assuming it doesn’t need an extra light…

  9. Kyle says:

    Looks like despite having no power you made the day work. I was actually without power this snowy morning. It is amazing how stranded you can feel. Merry Christmas!

  10. Hilda says:

    Weird timing for the outage, that’s for sure. Well done getting the garden mulched…now you can enjoy it over Christmas! Good to know even the experts make the odd goof ..and cheer us all up by admitting 😉

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

