Making new friends

Do you remember the “chicken” fabric that turned up in one of my squishy parcels recently?20150902-152058.jpg

Not really my cup of tea, but I did have a lovely comment from Alida at Buttercup and Bee saying how much she liked the fabric and would have to try to find some. Well…..here it was, not being used, so the simplest thing would be to pass it on!

A few emails later and the fabric (and some goodies – you’ll have to wait until Alida posts about it to see what!) was winging its way to the UK. I must say, both Australia Post and The Royal Mail did us proud as the parcel arrived with Alida in quick smart time.

Then, totally unnecessary but oh so welcomed, the gorgeous Alida sent me a parcel. It did arrive some little time ago, but with trips to and fro with Ma Kettle, there hasn’t been a great deal of time for blogging (as you’ve probably noticed!)

But to Alida’s parcel…….unwrapped it revealed………..

20151021-173603.jpgGood heavens! If it had been just the box I would have been more than delighted – love the box; the pattern, the colours and it’s nice and sturdy to boot, so useful – BUT…….inside…….

20151021-173905.jpghow cute is that owl? and my very own name tag (such neat writing)……and inside that……

20151021-174530.jpgI’ve looked at these birdies on Lucy’s blog, but knew I’d never make one, and now I have one of my very own, made for me by a new friend, from the other side of the world! And I’m such a sucker for a doily and this one is so sweet!

The birdie now hangs on the cupboard near my chair so I get to see him whenever I sit there

20151021-174757.jpg– he’s very happy minding the acorns!

And the doily is living on the butlers tray in our bedroom so it’s seen every day too.

20151021-180140.jpg(apologies for pic quality – it’s a dull day and a dark corner!)

So thank you dear Alida, such lovely gifts and so appreciated!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Making new friends

  1. If I say I really really like your stash, will you send it to me? Just asking ………

  2. Helen F says:

    Arn’t you spoilt M!!!! luuuv Annes comment does that apply to us as well?? ha ha

  3. You lucky girl – what a wonderful series of treats!

  4. Aawww, it’s great to see the bird and the doily in their new home x

  5. thimbleanna says:

    Hahaha — those girls up top are pretty funny admiring your stash. I REALLY REALLY love your — well, I can’t even remember the name of it, but your gorgeous quilt that you showed me (Anne has been making one but didn’t like the hand piecing!) — in case you get tired of it, I’m sure it would love to live at my house where it would be cherished!!! ;-D

  6. treadlemusic says:

    Such a sweet “pass-along” and the return was equally so. The blessing of a new friend brings such joy, hmmmm? Hugs…………

  7. Cécile says:

    What pretty presents !! Congratulations ladies !

  8. Judy says:

    You are both such lucky ladies finding a new friendship across so many miles. Makes my day smile just hearing about it.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

