A discovery

Having bought the wool for Ma’s new jumper, all we needed was needles. Unfortunately the Woollen Mills were out of the sizes required, so I jumped onto the internet and after a little searching I discovered……..ooh, a quilt shop I didn’t know about. Well, they might have knitting needles. Always worth an ask!

With the help of the map app, I soon found my way to Canterbury Quilts and the lovely Alison, who was most helpful. No, no knitting needles, but yes, lots of fabrics! Oops!

20150914-145651.jpgAs you can see, it’s a lovely store with quite a diverse range of fabrics, and a quilting service too.

A cupboard in one corner caught my eye,

20150914-145834.jpg
and on closer inspection there’s a photo of the original shop, a boot makers,

20150914-145920.jpgwhich Alison had hoped to renovate when they purchased the property, but it proved too far gone to restore. However, they have done a faithful reconstruction which you can read about here.

So what did I buy, I can hear you ask? Well, this spot was going out at $5.00 pm and as it will make a great background (for something!) I needed 4.0m (bargain of the year!), and a girl can never have too many stripes.

20150914-150438.jpgThe pack on the left is a range called Atomic Garden.

20150914-150703.jpg(not such a good rendition of the colours, but check the link). Such a quirky range!

Then, just to show how eclectic my taste is, these beautiful Paris fabrics, and a script print.

20150914-151020.jpgSo, ’twas slightly more expensive than knitting needles, but what fun!

If you’re up in Bendigo at all, I recommend a visit.

Meredithe x

PS I found the right knitting needles at the “S” shop.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A discovery

  1. Helen F says:

    Wow M what a find!!! The boot shop history cupboard is interesting! I can feel a road trip coming on!! nice fabrics! glad you were able to sniff out the knitting needles as well!!!!

  2. Don’t ya just love it….no matter how many or what size we own it’s never the one we need.
    What a wonderful shop. I will have to visit.

  3. I’m glad you found the needles in the end, but what a wonderful find!

  4. Kyle says:

    What a fantastic looking shop. I love that each quilting store no matter where they are takes on its own special personality. Love your new fabrics and, if course, glad you found the needles. :0)

  5. Cécile says:

    LOL ! It’s really a beautiful quilt shop and oh ! Surprise…..! You’ve bought nice fabrics ! Oups !

  6. thimbleanna says:

    You’re too funny! I love happy accidents like that — even if they do end up costing some money LOL!

  7. Oh no, what a disaster, having to visit a quilt shop, and even worse, having to buy fabric!!!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

