One down………

My “Alice” quilt just needs a final fabric border (and I need a clear 30 minutes to get it cut and sewn on!), and I’m missing the hand piecing. So I dug out a quilt I started with Margaret Sampson George and with the pieces all cut out (did that at Millrose earlier in the year) it’s been easy to get the first one finished……

20150726-131713.jpgThat’s one down, three to go!

As requested, here’s a pic of the red cyclamen

20150726-131815.jpgand there’s another flower to come; can you see the bud in the bottom right hand corner? And several orchid spikes are blooming, so I’ve brought then indoors to enjoy

20150726-131921.jpg(this pic is for you Heather!)

Back to the sewing……….

I just need to remember where I put the background for these blocks……..I’ve found the photo I took during the class with MSG so I know what I’m looking for……..just need to……lay……my hands……on it……..(still searching……..)

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to One down………

  1. Helen F says:

    Looking good M! – that fabric will be easy to find in your sewing room!!! Just thought you would SHOW OFF your cyclamen AND ORCHID cause you know my cyclamens DIE and my orchid has flowered for about 5 years!!!!!

  2. Pam says:

    Love your round block! What pattern is that from? Do you have templates for it? Very interesting. 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    I love this block and your fabrics! All of the hand piecing in your blog posts has me itching to do hand piecing again. It was so relaxing and the pieces always fit. I miss it. I haven’t heard any complaints about your winter weather so maybe it’s a mild one this year. If it’s too cold, I’ll swap some degrees with you, especially the humidity. Usually southern CA doesn’t have humidity problems – at least not until now. If it reached 100%, that would be fine as it would help our water shortages.

  4. Jenny M says:

    Such a beautiful block ~ gorgeous fabrics you have used. You will have to share your tips for growing orchids, I don’t have much luck with them.

  5. Janet says:

    What a marvellous circle block! The cyclamen is so pretty – I would never have guessed it’s a winter flower :0) Good luck finding your background fabric!

  6. Cocopatch says:

    beautiful block! good search! I have the same problem some times at home!

  7. What – you can’t find something in your near and tidy sewing room?!?! I love your round block – but I still don’t like hand-piecing!! Gorgeous orchids!!

  8. Cardygirl says:

    Love the whirligig!

  9. CĂ©cile says:

    Love love love your block and I hope you found your fabric….
    Lovely flowers too !
    Xoxo

  10. I hope you track down that fabric soon! How dare it hide from you?!

  11. audrey says:

    Love your block! I’ve drawn mine out and am starting to cut them. Mine won’t be nearly as scrappy which is a shame because yours is just gorgeous. Oh well. If they turn out well for me, maybe I’ll be making a scrappier version next. You never know where the inspiration will take us!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

