In the (winter) garden

As we enter the second month of Winter, it’s delightful to see the garden still blossoming, albeit Winter style.

The plants I potted up in Autumn are now bursting into flower, providing a colour display on the deck, and which we can see from the warmth of the family room

20150705-202253.jpgThe lemon tree is producing really well (possibly something to do with me remembering to feed it during Autumn!)

20150705-202349.jpgThe cyclamen is about to flower

20150705-202424.jpgThe ziggy cactus is flowering

20150705-202509.jpgI’ve counted 9 spikes on the orchid

20150705-202557.jpgThe lavender has been flowering for weeks

20150705-202641.jpgA new geranium has flowered

20150705-202721.jpgand another cutting is showing promise

20150705-202808.jpgThere are bulbs pushing their way to the surface

20150705-202845.jpgand daffodil stems already standing tall

20150705-202916.jpgIt’s so lovely to see all this activity even in the cold and wet

20150705-202955.jpgHow is your garden growing?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to In the (winter) garden

  1. Helen F says:

    Hey M – My garden is “NOT”!!! Nooooo spikes on my orchids – AGAIN!! my cyclamen DIED!!! after 1 season – not like yours – how long ago was it we bought it at the nursery road trip??? but my zygocactus is going great guns!! xx

  2. Susan says:

    Lemons, lavender and the promise of Spring- what’s not to love!

  3. thimbleanna says:

    Haha — not sure what happened there — this was my real comment :

    Your winter gardens look like our spring gardens! Nothing blooms here in the winter — you’re so lucky!

  4. Hilda says:

    Oh you have done so well with your pots! I have just potted some pansies for colour but they are still babies and sulking a bit. Always a delight to see the bulbs come up 🙂

  5. Chookyblue says:

    The marshmallow grass has taken over mine….. Yours is lovely….

  6. Lyn says:

    The lemon reminds me of Stephanie Alexander’s lovely recipe for Lemon Delicious Pudding!

  7. I love Christmas cactus. You have more flowers than my plant ever offers though- did I guess the wrong plant, or do my plants just not like me as much as yours?

  8. Julie says:

    I have cyclamen starting to flower, bergenias in full bloom – that is about all in my winter garden. Perhaps I should feed my lemon tree too.

    • Annie Andrews says:

      Lovely garden, you obviously don’t have possums, they have decimated everything, geraniums, citrus trees, 6 camellias, I’ll have to think seriously what to do about them.

  9. elainesuller says:

    How lovely your garden looks! I am in the UK and we are in the middle of summer, the roses were wonderful a couple of weeks ago, I have deadheaded and am waiting for the second flush.

  10. Cécile says:

    Your flowers look beautiful despite of the winter !!
    Congrats !

  11. Sue Whitburn says:

    You have very green fingers amongst all you other wonderful talents!! Garden looks lovely. I was so inspired by UK gardens I aim to get out into mine in next day or so- if it’s a tad warmer 😙 xx

  12. Your winter garden looks better than our height-of-summer garden!!

  13. Janet says:

    The concept of a blooming winter garden seems crazy and marvellous. In winter here the garden is under the snow and the temperature way too cold. Right now however, my garden is blooming and full of color :0) Here a cyclamen is a houseplant – I hope you’ll show a picture when it blooms full – I love them.

  14. Ann says:

    Oh Meredithe, your garden is looking gorgeous. Think I need some gardening tips!!

  15. Andrea says:

    Lovely and very pretty, so enjoyable!!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

