“I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles”

Ha!! That gotcha, didn’t it? No, I haven’t swallowed some shampoo or imbibed too much champagne (it is Saturday morning after all!), but last night I was making circles

20150704-104608.jpgwith my trusty Perfect Circles and the help of Best Press and an Aquash pen to apply the Best Press,

20150704-105207.jpgand that ditty, that my Nanna used to sing when I was a little girl, came into my head as “I’m Forever Making Circles”……….’cos I was making lots of circles. There are still some left over

20150704-105442.jpgbut I’m hoping I’ve made enough

20150704-105507.jpgI want them to add to the border appliqué of “Alice”

20150704-105548.jpgWhat do you think?

The appliqué for the last border is pinned into place ready to start stitching today. It’s time, then, to start thinking of the quilting, and last weekend at Millrose we spied these new WonderFil Eleganza threads (they come in plain and variegated)

20150704-110536.jpgwhich look great for hand quilting and these are perfect colours, don’t you think?

20150704-110616.jpgand they’ll live happily in this cute bag I bought at, of all places, the news agency in Heathcote, several weeks ago.

20150704-110728.jpgIt’s a freezing cold, overcast, rainy day here in Melbourne town. Perfect Winter day for stitching indoors in front of a fire…….which is what I shall be doing shortly. And best of all, it’s with friends!

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles”

  1. I’m still waiting for Eleganza to arrive here in the UK. It looks lovely. Your circles look great.

  2. alison says:

    As a keen appliquer I was very interested to read about the Aquash pen. I have some questions but cannot find an email address to write to you, They look. amazing!

  3. Glenda says:

    Stunning!!!!

  4. Cécile says:

    Your bubbles are cute and well done !
    Love the threads too……you are going to realise a beautiful quilting with them !
    Happy stitching close to the fire ! 🙂

  5. Lovely circles and thread colors : ) Enjoy your cozy by the fire stitching : )

  6. I shall shortly be making lots of circles for the setting triangles for the Aunts’ Quilt! The thread looks lovely – and what a cute little bag to keep it in!

  7. Susan says:

    Such perfect little circles! I think I need to try some of those! And the thread is quite luscious too!

  8. Kerry says:

    I too am intrigued by your Aquash pen. Do you fill it with Best Press? Love the threads, circles, applique and the idea of sitting stitching by the fire with friends. It’s the simple things in life…..

  9. thimbleanna says:

    Is “Alice” the codeword for your Aunts’? ‘Cause, you know, those flowers are beautiful, but they don’t look familiar! ;-PPPP

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

