Class show and tell

Wednesday

Pearl had finished her Japanese inspired quilt top

20150423-134622.jpgand spent class making up her binding, and we had a discussion on using up her leftovers to make a backing for this quilt. I wonder which option Pearl will go with?

A couple of students wanted to make my Fat Quarter Sewing Bag, so I happily guided them through the pattern and here are the results; firstly Lois’

20150423-135028.jpgand then Deirdre’s

20150423-135107.jpgAnne Marie is getting along with her hand quilting

20150423-135156.jpgEllen started making her stars into a circle

20150423-135247.jpgCarol is hand piecing these pretties (so different from the Richmond quilts’ black and yellow!)

20150423-135343.jpgand Jenny laid out her blocks and started cutting up sashings and strips

20150423-135425.jpghopefully we’ll see more of this next week!

Thursday

Fiona brought in her hexie quilt

20150423-135541.jpgCarilyn has made four stars for the cream/yellow quilt

20150423-135646.jpgand all these stars for her Star a Day

20150423-135730.jpgMarilyn had a refresher in mitred corners

20150423-135831.jpgJane is down to the last three star blocks

20150423-135907.jpg
Sue 1 was appliquéing

20150423-135934.jpgand Lisa was making stars, and is using this retro clutch bag as a sewing bag – cute idea!

20150423-140029.jpgI shan’t be taking any pay home this month; some new fabrics have arrived at the shop, and I couldn’t resist! (What’s new?!). They are a mix of

20150423-140228.jpgand

20150423-140244.jpgand these are what I chose

20150423-140307.jpgI’ll just add them to the pile, will I?

Meredithe x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Class show and tell

  1. bermudagirl says:

    Hi Meredithe!
    Oh you are so lucky to have your little stitching/quilting classes! I adore these posts and live … (what are the words that fit here— sorry it is too early) through you. I don’t belong to any groups around here. I know there is a quilting guild that meets once a week in St. Gallen but I haven’t got up the nerve to go yet. Your posts always make me so jealous though that you have other people to sew with and indulge in their inspiration in person. I hate commenting on these posts because I don’t want to offend anyone if you don’t talk about them. But I love especially Lois and Deidre’s bags, and I adore that block of Carols. One of my absolute favorite color combinations is turquoise and hot pink (also for my Bermudian wedding).Nice vintage? fabrics. I love the solids. Is that what they call chambray the pink and mint fabrics? Looks like you had a great time.
    Greetings from Switzerland! Hope your winter days are getting better with the weather there in Australia.
    Jodie

  2. Meg says:

    Hi Meredithe,
    Love your little pile of fabrics. Can you tell me what the large floral fabric is on the right. Love receiving your blog. Meg

  3. Judy Beck says:

    Love your new fabric purchase, just found some new Mary Koval myself, so soft and old looking. Enjoyed the post. Waiting for the third of your new blocks…

  4. Kelly Callaghan says:

    Love your work – got to keep the economy ticking over!! Great fabrics and the girls have made beautiful things.

  5. Chookyblue says:

    love seeing what everyone is working on……….great fabrics in the last pic………

  6. Naughty, naughty girl, buying those new fabrics (ok, so I’m just jealous you have access to such loveliness) As always fabulous work by your students!!

  7. Kyle says:

    I’ve been waiting to see Mary Koval’s fabrics. Yummy. Some of those will be joining my stash as well. Fiona’s hexies are so beautiful.

  8. rachaeldaisy says:

    Your show and tell posts always make me want to run off to my sewing room and start sewing!! That’s a gorgeous pile of fabrics, who needs pay when you can have a stack like that to hold and pat, and plan beautiful quilts for.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - reading them makes my day!

